We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great over 20 yrs ago, still great today!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Breeze Luau

Island Breeze Luau
Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-329-8111
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Island Breeze Luau like an insider
$92*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted the Best of West Hawaii since 2000 , the Island Breeze Lu'au and is located on the shores of Kamakahonu Bay and the historic grounds of the Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. An evening filled with delicious food and authentic Island entertainment. Highlights include the re-enactment of the arrival of Kamehameha I aboard an outrigger canoe, the unearthing of the imu (underground oven), preliminary arts and crafts where you have a chance to meet the performers, a 22-dish buffet, an open bar and the finale of the Siva Afi - spectacular Samoan Fireknife dance.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great over 20 yrs ago, still great today!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I went to this luau with my parents in 1991. I took my wife there last week for New Year's Eve, and it was still great! The experience has changed some. You can get Polynesian tattoos (temporary), learn how to dance the hula, learn to spin poi balls, and other crafts before the meal is served. The food was great, the open bar was great, and all of the performers were great! The wife and I are planning to bring the kids for our next vacation to Hawai'i, and will definitely bring them to the luau!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    93
    49
    18
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Luau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We attended 2 luaus on our vacation to the Big Island..the Royal Kona & Island Breeze & the Island Breeze was the best in our opinion

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Entertaining and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

You are entertained from the moment you enter until you leave. The band plays on the lawn, while they take the pig out of the pit. The other entertainers are scattered throughout the lawn, teaching the patrons how to luau, weave coconut leaves, etc. The food was outstanding, and it's all you can eat. This luau also includes free drinks, including alcohol. The show includes the history of all of the island with dances from Hawaii, Figi, and other Polynesian islands. The fire dancer was amazing. Highly recommend this luau.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I thought a luau might be touristy and not very authentic. Was I wrong. This luau featured numerous Polynesian dances from a variety of islands with informative narration from a vocalist. The knife dancer was very talented as were all performers. Great show! The food was quite good as well. My husband said it was very, very good pork. Excellent evening in King Kamehameha's kingdom.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Looked at several luaus on the island, and we chose this one for the price and the fact that there was an open bar. Seemed like a great value, and I was right. The location was beautiful - right on the water - food was great, mai tais were flowin, and the show was really quite good. There was a lot of variety, as they included the "royal court" coming in from the water and the imu ceremony, as well as a children's show and the real deal. Had a great time. Just wish I would have brought a sweater, as it got cold once the sun went down since we were right by the water. No need to get the more expensive tables. I could see just fine where we were.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Breeze Luau also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Island Breeze Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Breeze Luau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.