We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Island Breeze Luau

Island Breeze Luau
Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-329-8111
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #11 of 49 attractions in Kailua-Kona
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Voted the Best of West Hawaii since 2000 , the Island Breeze Lu'au and is located on the shores of Kamakahonu Bay and the historic grounds of the Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. An evening filled with delicious food and authentic Island entertainment. Highlights include the re-enactment of the arrival of Kamehameha I aboard an outrigger canoe, the unearthing of the imu (underground oven), preliminary arts and crafts where you have a chance to meet the performers, a 22-dish buffet, an open bar and the finale of the Siva Afi - spectacular Samoan Fireknife dance.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The luau on Christmas day cost extra. It was puring rain and outside and they did not cancel the event. There is no place to sit under anything so their solution was to give us towels to put over our heads. The show was mediocre as well as the food. We could not get our money back or cancel. If you book this luau and it rains, you are out of luck.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
konakohala, Public Relations Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Aloha, please contact us at info@ibphawaii.com so we can discuss your review in more detail. We did follow up with every guest who contacted us directly after that lu'au to make sure that their concerns were addressed. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    66
    37
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Susanville, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great First Lu'au”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our first Lu'au and we had the best time. The dancing was amazing. The food was great and all you can eat. There were activities before the show - we took the hula class. We had a three year old with us and she loved it. The entertainment was funny and interactive. Would attend again!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, fun show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We were able to attend this luau for around $25/person because we attended a timeshare presentation (which turned out to be super painless). That made the show an incredible deal; although I'm not sure if I would have paid the $80+ that is advertised. Some people paid extra for priority seating, but I don't think that's necessary. There didn't seem to be a bad seat anywhere. Also, leis are an additional $6 each and souvenir photos are $20.

The opening reception was neat, with a few crafts and an open bar. (Have the bartender make you a Mai tai, rather than getting them from the punch bowl.). The buffet wasn't huge, but it was generally good. Ironically, we thought the pork was the one of the more disappointing items - seems like it should be better considering how the imu (sp?) ceremony is incorporated in to the event.

The dancing is good and the host engaged the crowd for the most part. One of the best parts was the setting - Kona looked lovely across the bay. Overall, it was a fun night and a great choice for our first luau.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All you can Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was our first time at a luau. It was a nice evening spent with the family. The dancers were good although if the boys are expecting to see the coconut bras on the hula dancers you will disappointed, there is none of that. On the plus side the male dancers are really easy on the eyes! Lol. The drinks were unlimited but only started at 5:30 and went til 7:30 not a minute later. So if your trying to drink to get your money's worth you really don't have much time. The dinner was interesting. Not a huge assortment of dishes, but the ones they do have they did really well. I loved the teriyaki beef, and the chicken was really good to. The poi is sick... I would skip that all together but just to say you have tried it maybe take a dot sized amount. They also had a couple macaroni salads that weren't bad, and of course green salad how can you mess that up. For dessert they had three kinds, a pineapple upside down cake which was delicious, a chocolate cake with coconut icing, and then a traditional Hawaiian coconut cream thing which kinda looks like jello, it was pretty good. Overall the dances were neat, the food was good, and the service was so so. Would I do it again of course. I thought the meal was worth it and the entertainment was good. Learning to hula was a hoot, we sucked but we tried. On a side note you can do an origami fish thing with palm fronds to take home but they only have enough fronds for a few people so if u want that as a souvenir you better get to the guy who is teaching you really quick.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“First lu'ua and worth every penny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This lu'ua at the Marriott hotel in Kona was recommended by Frommer's Hawaii travel guide and it was a memorable evening. At a cost of $83 each, you see Hawaii arts and crafts, a hula demonstration, enjoy an open bar, a buffet dinner and a Polynesian show with music and dancing. We could have got a lower price by attending a vacation club presentation at our resort but my wife and I had previously attended one of these hard sells in Cozumel and said never again.
When in Hawaii be prepared to spend and enjoy the place without penny pinching. Yes, I paid $6 for a lei for my wife and bought a photo of us for $20 but I have great memories of the evening.
The emcee of the dinner show was really welcoming and nicely paced the evening's entertainment with singing and narrations about the history and culture of the native Hawaiian people. The performers truly provided a wonderful night with music and dances from various Polynesian islands. Lots of photo ops at this show.
The buffet food was average quality but the roast pig was very tasty. The mai tai punch was watery and the wine was a cheap jug wine so have a beer or get a mixed drink at the bar during the evening.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Breeze Luau also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Island Breeze Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Breeze Luau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Island Breeze Luau to your Saves list