We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best beaches ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i

Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i
Off Highway 19 between mile marker 90 and 91, Hiking trail near Kona Coast State Park, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
8016730220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 115 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Barnegat Light, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“one of the best beaches ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

if you're up for the hike, go all the way to Makalawena, well worth it. Wear good shoes, flipflops will be inadequate, and bring water!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    22
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Local Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Born and raised on the Big island, Makalawena is a true local spot. Hidden by trails, and a 4wd road off the Highway makes this spot exclusive. The passage way once known by word of mouth is now in exposed in books such as Big Island Revealed.
This is a gorgeous stretch of beach features white sandy hills and crystal clear blue waters. Snorkeling is a must!
There's a hiking trail that leads from Kona Coast State Park into Makalawena. Be sure to take what you need and water, this will take awhile. No Bathrooms! Its worth the walk for sure. Being a Native Hawaiian this need be SAID, Take Care of our beautiful Beach's as we share its beauty with you! WE ARE WATCHING.
Have Fun!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Divine beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Yes, its a drive and a hike regardless, so buck up, and enjoy. Its Paradise! Pack it in haul it out. No bathrooms or showers, or noisy highways or golf course hotels to clutter up, and funk up this place made by the gods.
I've walked it alone, and with young kids from the state park beach. Not much shade on the trail, yes there is a trail. I've driven it from the highway.. again this is lava rock, and coral made road, not for the usual paved road drivers. Must have experience to go 4x4. Or just not care of you get dings & scratches, and yes that oil pan.
The beach is epic. Shade, ocean made tide pool for kids, places to nap, surf, pick nick under a tree.. seasonal whale watch.. and year round dolphins come cruzing by.
If you're a trouper, and so is the family. Than enjoy! Take only photos and leave only foot prints, Hawaii stays beautiful we all help keep it like that! Aloha

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great secluded beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This a great beach to go by hiking through a lava field. White sand blue waters and hardly nobody there

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun adventure to this beautiful beach!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This beach is beautiful and worth the hike for our family - one of the favorite activities we did on our trip. We have 3 kids (ages 8, 6 and 3) who all hiked it with us. It took us 45 minutes each way b/c we needed to go slower with the kids. You hike over lava rock and sand at different points so it is slow going at times (if it was just my husband and I it would have been closer to 20ish minutes). Highly recommend wearing sturdy shoes (all of us did) or I don't think we could have made it with the kids. We stayed most the day and by the time we got back to the car everyone was tired (leave some energy for the hike back). The kids had a fun time boogie boarding and playing in the white sand. My husband and I also snorkeled and it was great so bring your gear. Pack light, bring food and water. No facilities. Shade could be hard to find depending on how many people are there when you go. You won't be disapointed - worth the effort - plus the hike is part of the fun! :)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.