We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i

Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i
Off Highway 19 between mile marker 90 and 91, Hiking trail near Kona Coast State Park, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
8016730220
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 51 Attractions in Kailua-Kona
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Divine beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Yes, its a drive and a hike regardless, so buck up, and enjoy. Its Paradise! Pack it in haul it out. No bathrooms or showers, or noisy highways or golf course hotels to clutter up, and funk up this place made by the gods.
I've walked it alone, and with young kids from the state park beach. Not much shade on the trail, yes there is a trail. I've driven it from the highway.. again this is lava rock, and coral made road, not for the usual paved road drivers. Must have experience to go 4x4. Or just not care of you get dings & scratches, and yes that oil pan.
The beach is epic. Shade, ocean made tide pool for kids, places to nap, surf, pick nick under a tree.. seasonal whale watch.. and year round dolphins come cruzing by.
If you're a trouper, and so is the family. Than enjoy! Take only photos and leave only foot prints, Hawaii stays beautiful we all help keep it like that! Aloha

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    16
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great secluded beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This a great beach to go by hiking through a lava field. White sand blue waters and hardly nobody there

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun adventure to this beautiful beach!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This beach is beautiful and worth the hike for our family - one of the favorite activities we did on our trip. We have 3 kids (ages 8, 6 and 3) who all hiked it with us. It took us 45 minutes each way b/c we needed to go slower with the kids. You hike over lava rock and sand at different points so it is slow going at times (if it was just my husband and I it would have been closer to 20ish minutes). Highly recommend wearing sturdy shoes (all of us did) or I don't think we could have made it with the kids. We stayed most the day and by the time we got back to the car everyone was tired (leave some energy for the hike back). The kids had a fun time boogie boarding and playing in the white sand. My husband and I also snorkeled and it was great so bring your gear. Pack light, bring food and water. No facilities. Shade could be hard to find depending on how many people are there when you go. You won't be disapointed - worth the effort - plus the hike is part of the fun! :)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Almost don't want to share to keep this beach a secret. Take the road down across the lava rock field to park, yes it is rough and you have to go slow but we did it in a little focus with no issues. Walk over to the beach, across the sand by the house and through the trees to the trail, keep going till you come out in the beach, you can stay in that cove or goa bit further for less rocks and calmer surf. Such a beautiful place and a bit of an adventure to get there makes it feel even more special. We did it in flip flops and were fine but if you have any trouble being sure footed some more stable shoes would be a good idea. Pack in pack out, makes a very nice day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Post Card beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This beach requires a one hour hike from the road or a 20 min. hike from the parking area but it is well worth it. The beach has white sand, easy surf, and no people. We snorkles here and saw all sorts of sea creatures. Take a pinic and relax here for the entire day. Save some energy for the hike out and enjoy.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;