We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun adventure to this beautiful beach!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i

Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i
Off Highway 19 between mile marker 90 and 91, Hiking trail near Kona Coast State Park, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
8016730220
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 208 Activities in Kailua-Kona
Attraction details
Hood River, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun adventure to this beautiful beach!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This beach is beautiful and worth the hike for our family - one of the favorite activities we did on our trip. We have 3 kids (ages 8, 6 and 3) who all hiked it with us. It took us 45 minutes each way b/c we needed to go slower with the kids. You hike over lava rock and sand at different points so it is slow going at times (if it was just my husband and I it would have been closer to 20ish minutes). Highly recommend wearing sturdy shoes (all of us did) or I don't think we could have made it with the kids. We stayed most the day and by the time we got back to the car everyone was tired (leave some energy for the hike back). The kids had a fun time boogie boarding and playing in the white sand. My husband and I also snorkeled and it was great so bring your gear. Pack light, bring food and water. No facilities. Shade could be hard to find depending on how many people are there when you go. You won't be disapointed - worth the effort - plus the hike is part of the fun! :)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    18
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Almost don't want to share to keep this beach a secret. Take the road down across the lava rock field to park, yes it is rough and you have to go slow but we did it in a little focus with no issues. Walk over to the beach, across the sand by the house and through the trees to the trail, keep going till you come out in the beach, you can stay in that cove or goa bit further for less rocks and calmer surf. Such a beautiful place and a bit of an adventure to get there makes it feel even more special. We did it in flip flops and were fine but if you have any trouble being sure footed some more stable shoes would be a good idea. Pack in pack out, makes a very nice day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Post Card beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This beach requires a one hour hike from the road or a 20 min. hike from the parking area but it is well worth it. The beach has white sand, easy surf, and no people. We snorkles here and saw all sorts of sea creatures. Take a pinic and relax here for the entire day. Save some energy for the hike out and enjoy.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Beautiful Water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Wow what a nice spot. Yes it is a hike across 1 mile of lava path, but it level, not hard walking and it is worth it. Lovely water, sand, quiet with only a few hardy souls. It can be hot on the walk back so save some water. Try it at least once if you get the chance. Enjoy.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great beach, but a bit of a walk.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

You have a chance to have a beach nearly to yourself, but at a cost. Quite a long walk over rugged terrain and no facilities.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.