We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i

Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i
Off Highway 19 between mile marker 90 and 91, Hiking trail near Kona Coast State Park, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
8016730220
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 35 Attractions in Kailua-Kona
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Almost don't want to share to keep this beach a secret. Take the road down across the lava rock field to park, yes it is rough and you have to go slow but we did it in a little focus with no issues. Walk over to the beach, across the sand by the house and through the trees to the trail, keep going till you come out in the beach, you can stay in that cove or goa bit further for less rocks and calmer surf. Such a beautiful place and a bit of an adventure to get there makes it feel even more special. We did it in flip flops and were fine but if you have any trouble being sure footed some more stable shoes would be a good idea. Pack in pack out, makes a very nice day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    16
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Post Card beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This beach requires a one hour hike from the road or a 20 min. hike from the parking area but it is well worth it. The beach has white sand, easy surf, and no people. We snorkles here and saw all sorts of sea creatures. Take a pinic and relax here for the entire day. Save some energy for the hike out and enjoy.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Beautiful Water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Wow what a nice spot. Yes it is a hike across 1 mile of lava path, but it level, not hard walking and it is worth it. Lovely water, sand, quiet with only a few hardy souls. It can be hot on the walk back so save some water. Try it at least once if you get the chance. Enjoy.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great beach, but a bit of a walk.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

You have a chance to have a beach nearly to yourself, but at a cost. Quite a long walk over rugged terrain and no facilities.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very good but you should know….”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We visited "Maks" twice in one week and once was probably enough. The 30-40 yards of actual beach is very, very beautiful and the stuff you find on postcards with soft light coloured sand (not really white but still amazing) and incredible turquoise water. Just be aware that there really isn't much beach available for traditional sunbathing and body surfing and the coastline is almost completely volcanic so there is only about 30-40 yards of actual beach which will have you questioning whether or not it was worth it when all is said and done. This means on a busy day you could be sharing this small portion of beach with at least a dozen other people including the occasional nude bather. After you exit off the highway and take the slow meandering road (we were following 2WD vehicles down) to the parking lot, the 30 minute walk across the rough lava rocks requires shoes and not sandals although a sport sandal might work however we wore our running shoes and were so thankful we did. There are no services whatsoever at the beach. We found out you can also drive directly down to the beach so on our second visit we did something really stupid and took our 4WD vehicle down the horrible "road" which took us 30 minutes, one way, of white knuckle driving down a bunch of giant rocks and lava to arrive at a parking area and then we still had to walk 20 minutes to the actual beach. The entrance off the highway to drive to the beach is about 200m south from Manini'o'wali beach onto a dirt road with no signage. DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS DRIVE ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARE IN A 2WD OR AWD VEHICLE BECAUSE YOU WILL NOT MAKE IT. We routinely scraped the skid plates under our Jeep during our drive and while it was kind of an adventure it wasn't much fun and we actually enjoy off-roading where we live. My suggestion is to follow the normal route to get there which will require the 30 minute walk across the lava rocks but just remember to pack your sneakers and you will be fine.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.