We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i

Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i
Off Highway 19 between mile marker 90 and 91, Hiking trail near Kona Coast State Park, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
8016730220
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 112 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Beautiful beach! Shoes are required to get there from the parking lot. About a 20 minute walk north. Don't hesitate! It's totally worth it! White sand, large beach! No facilities. Bring water.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    19
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Most beautiful beach I have seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Apparently most rental car companies will not allow their cars on the road to this beach. Be aware, it is a nasty road, if you go take it slowly. The hike over the lava field was not so bad, once we found the trail. The beach was gorgeous and the water perfect. We continued to the third beach, which we had to ourselves. Perfect beach day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a very tranquil wonderful place to visit. Plan to take some time and had one of the best snorkling spots!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Ready for an adventure? Rocky road, long hike, soft white sand and beautiful aqua water! You can't miss this beach when you come to the big island! It is secluded and beautiful! After you park and head out don't think the first beach you see is your destination it's not.... Keep walking and walking and finally it's worth your hard work!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“If you make it here, you deserve it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

There are 2 roads into the parking area for you to leave your car and walk to the beach about a mile. The road by mile marker 88 is for 4X4 only, the road in by mile marker 90 is ok for 2 wheel drive, but its still pretty nasty.
Once you park, the trek is a mile. half of it is very hard to navigate lava rock & flip flops are not the foot wear of choice. When you reach the beach as you come out of the trees, dont stop or you will miss the actual beach!
A bit longer trek will produce the most beautiful little section of beach. Its not large, but its perfect for swimming. A little to rough for snorkling but I saw some do it.
I opted for just the goggles & came up with many treasures from the ocean floor.
Many little beautiful shells litter the softest white sand I have ever stepped in, my goodness its like white flour!
We spent a few hours & got sunburns, but wished we had brought lunch and beers & stayed all day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.