We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shave ice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kailua Pier

Kailua Pier
75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
808 329 2911
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 35 Attractions in Kailua-Kona
Type: Neighborhoods, Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lots of shops, bars and restaurants
Forest Grove, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“shave ice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a must do on a hot day, I recommend to have the red beans mixed in with the coconut pineapple ice cream top with shave ice and coconut syrup.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    53
    32
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle, wa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great place to watch the dolphins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visited Kona in December, and every day we took a walk through town in the afternoon. Each afternoon we had the pleasure to watch the dolphins frolicking in the bay, entertaining all the tourists. They played tag with the paddle-boarders and swimmers, it was amazing to watch!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We walked to the pier from our hotel a couple of times and just watched to people fishing and charters going and coming with excited people who had been on a tour and saw something spectacular. The fish are so colourful and unique to the tropics. We had a great time and wondered around for a couple of hours in the early evening and early morning beating the mid day sun.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“It's happening here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Since the pier was right in front of our hotel, we had many opportunities to check out the activities there. One of the most interesting things is the daily (morning and evening) practice of the outrigger crews. They store their boats near the pier, and it's fun to watch them. Views from the pier toward the palace and missionary church are great, and we really enjoyed the sunsets there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lots of things going on here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were picked up by the Kona Agressor II live aboard dive boat here. At the pier itself there was diving, paddle boarding, swimming, fishing, fishing charters. There was a place to put your stuff and a modern bath.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kailua Pier also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kailua Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kailua Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.