We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saw Turtles on the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaloko-Honokohau National Park

Kaloko-Honokohau National Park
73-4786 Kanalani Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
(808) 329-6881
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 35 Attractions in Kailua-Kona
Type: National Parks, Cultural
Attraction details
Watersmeet, Michigan
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Saw Turtles on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We took the walk down to the Fish Pond through the easy path. Turtles were on the beach and rocks sunning themselves. It was exciting, but you will be sure to see turtles at other places as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    72
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Avoca, mi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great nature park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

On our last day on Hawaii and before we turned our rental car in we drove by this park and decided to stop in, I am so glad we did. What a great experience. We have great pictures of sea turtles, birds, incredible views of various lava, and nice photos of a secluded beach. I wish we had found this earlier. A nice beach for kids and snorkeling. Great place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Take a picnic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Take a picnic after you visit the park. Watch for whales in season. Enjoy the history. Comfortable shoes. Uneven surfaces be careful. When sign says high surf pay attention and stay away from the immediate shore line. We take bets on who will be the first unobservant visitor to get a smack down, don't spoil your visit use common sense. There are tidal pools for the little ones to play in.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose Valley, Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

everything we say was awesome, don't know how to describe anything. we were to so many places, can't remember what the best was at this time. have to look through my papers and check in again later.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice hike to the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This park is just located south of the Kona International Airport...and if you enjoy hiking this is one to do! Although you will end up along the beach coast area with sand you must wear firm shoes along the trails because of the gravel and the uneven solid lava rocks! Once you arrive along the beach lava rock area you will see huge green sea turtles swimming and laying around also respect the turtles and do not disturb them...it is a law!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaloko-Honokohau National Park also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kaloko-Honokohau National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaloko-Honokohau National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.