We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Pizza goes this is a good place. I've had other meals that were terrific .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery

Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery
74-5612 Pawai Place Kailua, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-334-2739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 209 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The 2,000-square-foot outdoor lanai, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation and tiki torches, offers seating for 175 patrons. Customers also can enjoy a cool meal or beverage inside the air-conditioned bar area at one of several surrounding tables or at the koa U-shaped bar itself. Inside the bar area is the retail store, stocked with colorful T-shirts, hats, towels, coasters, mugs and much more.
Temple City, California, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“As Pizza goes this is a good place. I've had other meals that were terrific .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had the Brew your own pizza today. I really like th new option I tried. Have always had fine food here. And it's beer is really good! Lots of choices in many styles of beer and ale. I recommend Kona Brewing Company to any casual diner near Kona on the Big Island, Hawaii! I am ordinarily a wine drinker, but at KBC I always drink the sampler(4-5oz glasses of your choices).

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    778
    168
    44
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very hot at noon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I loved the food and staff but the air conditioning is not strong enough at lunch. Maybe during the evenings on a cooler day it is a better option. We loved the food (I had the slice of the day with salad and it was a great price!) and of course the beer! Would deffinetly go back if I return to Kona.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, CO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Pizza was really good! Loved the pesto with artichoke, veggie, and goat cheese and mushroom. Cheeseburger pizza not as good. Turkey club was really good! Great beer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good beer, good atmosphere, bad pizza...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This place was on our list of things to do while visiting the big island. The beer selection was good and tasty. The food was pretty good, but let's leave the pizza making to the east coast! Their breads and pizza dough are made with recycled grains from the mash. The outside seating was nice, but had to use my phone to see the menu when it got dark. The growlers are pricey. Overall though, not a bad place. The servers are great and attentive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Required Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Ok we go here every time we are on the Kona side of the Big Island. Given the traffic the food is always great and the bear - well the reputation speaks for itself. For you hard core tourists one of the better tee shirt selections too!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.