We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza and Beer selection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery

Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery
74-5612 Pawai Place Kailua, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-334-2739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 241 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The 2,000-square-foot outdoor lanai, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation and tiki torches, offers seating for 175 patrons. Customers also can enjoy a cool meal or beverage inside the air-conditioned bar area at one of several surrounding tables or at the koa U-shaped bar itself. Inside the bar area is the retail store, stocked with colorful T-shirts, hats, towels, coasters, mugs and much more.
Clovis, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Pizza and Beer selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had a greek pizza which was amazingly delicious. Tried a beer sampler and had a great time out on the patio.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    857
    775
    168
    44
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Go for the Beer not the food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nothing fancy just your average brew pub food! Go for the Beer! I love the Blonde Pale Ale and the Longboard! Be sure to get a T-Shirt.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good beer - yummy nachos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We ate here for lunch after spending the morning at the beach. Our server was very knowledgeable about the beers and offered us samples to try before making our decision. I had the strawberry salad which was very tasty and the dressing was delicious. I also tried the nachos that my husband ordered and it was very yummy! The portion was so big that it fed 2 men while leaving enough for me to have several bites. The staff was very friendly which also added to the experience. They offer 2 tours of the brewery at 10:30am and 3:00pm daily with free tasting. We haven't been on the tour yet but hope to before we return home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“As good as hoped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

During a week's vacation in Hawaii, my cousin & I ate here twice. The crab cakes (appetizer) were delicious! I had the fish tacos & the BBQ chicken sandwich. I recommend both. The wait staff was friendly & definitely competent. My favorite beer is the Longboard & since it's not available anywhere near Missouri, that's all I drank while there. The patio seating is nice too. The only thing that could make this place better would be if it had a view of the ocean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California, United States
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Beer and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I liked the Big Wave the best! The slice of pizza and choice of sallad is a good deal at $9. Beer of the day around $3.50 a pint

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.