We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurray, Daylight Mind is what Kona has needed for years.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daylight Mind Coffee Company

Daylight Mind Coffee Company
75-5770 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Daylight mind coffee company)
808-339-7824
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Bakeries in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Coffee & Tea, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Daylight Mind is a Restaurant, Coffee House, Bakery, Roaster and Coffee School located in the heart of Kona. Visit this premier oceanside location to be served locally sourced, fresh food, and to experience extraordinary coffees roasted in our shop! If you are looking for an amazing meal or to discover the world of coffee, we invite you to our beautiful, two-story loft to learn, explore, relax and enjoy!
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hurray, Daylight Mind is what Kona has needed for years.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The attention to detail in every aspect of Daylight Mind is evident. Local fresh food, simply prepared and presented on lovely plates. The portions are just right. The servers are informed and friendly. The coffee drinks are the best we have had on the island, and we have been visiting/living here for 20 years. They even make a Flat White! The breads and pastry are delicious. We have been wanting good bread on the island and now we have a place to get it. Parking is free and plentifully only a block or so away. The location right on the water is great.
Daylight Mind is like no other restaurant in Kona and it is what we have been waiting for.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    56
    30
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waimea
Level Contributor
258 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Oceanfront Location, So-So Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This recently opened restaurant and coffee shop is right on the water at Kona Bay. The sounds and view are straight from the You Tube tourist videos.

The coffee menu is extensive, and the two that we tried were very good. Unfortunately, the salad was average; the pork sandwich was OK but tiny and served with rice as a side--I guess to make up for the small sandwich.

I am sure that the menu will improve once start-up bugs are cleaned up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is as good as it gets in Kona!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The location and views are great. The service is excellent and the staff are very friendly. The food is good, and very unique for Kona. This is a great place to bring visitors to treat them to the best of Kona. Once they get their liquor license it will truly be perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent staff, disappointing salads”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The location couldn't be better - overlookig the ocean, nice uncrowded eating area with tables nicely spread apart. The wait staff were friendly and helpful. Four gals went to lunch and ordered salads and one a sandwich. The spinach salads for $12.95 filled only 2/3 of the plate - no bread, no crackers, nothing but salad without much else but the spinach and an egg. There's no reason not to fill the plate with greens when selling an entree salad. The sandwich was good - and plenty for a healthy appetite. The menu listed "iced Coffee-cherry tisane" but the waitress didn't know what it was. We're local and guessed, but better staff education would be good if it's going to be on the menu. This restaurant needs a little more time to work out the bugs before we'll go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfully prepare food, great service and great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great concept of a restaurant to have a full professional bakery and soon a coffee milling area. The only slight negative I would have would be that they are not quite done with construction and the ambiance will improve when everything is finished.

When you enter you first walk by a bakery window where all of the fresh pastries and rustic breads are displayed. The interior is finished in a lot of wood with stylish ceiling fans everywhere.

Friendly staff tend to you immediately and you are walked to you table past more windows where you cans see the culinary team hard at work.

The menu is well thought out and you can tell that whoever is responsible for the food really knows what they are doing. Very artful, flavorful and not the same old thing many restaurants have. The chef(s) prefer to flavor their food with a lot of herbs instead of fats and sauces. There are herbs growing in the kitchen in trays and on your table in pots.

The servers are proficient with the menu and very, very friendly. Not over or under service throughout the meal.

The view is just terrific. You look over the rail where you are sitting and the ocean is right below you. I was really impressed with the chowder, the burger and the eggs Benedict. I would suggest they put salt and pepper at the table....everyone's taste is different.

We are glad they are here. Somewhere inn Kona where you can get REAL food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daylight Mind Coffee Company also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Daylight Mind Coffee Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daylight Mind Coffee Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.