We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucket List Trip for Mom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Resort to your Saves list
Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Resort
78-6800 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Celina, Texas
1 review
“Bucket List Trip for Mom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This condo was a great find! My 71 year old mom has cancer and is about to start chemo and a stem cell transplant. What better reason to go see a place that she has dreamed of, but never visited. The affordable price and comfortable amenities made it possible. We pulled the kiddo from school and the second bedroom was perfect for us while mom enjoyed the ocean view room. After three flights and a full day of travel, it was nice to have the welcome basket of fruit and coffee to get us started. The shopping center was handy and we were surprised by the great snorkeling nearby! Being able to travel light was a blessing! The condo had so many extras that enhanced our stay including snorkeling equipment, boogie boards, beach chairs, and ice chest! Also, being able to wash clothes in the new washer and dryer was tops! We loved the lanai and the pretty views and ocean breezes! Our flight home was cancelled and we really wished we had another day at the condo instead of the resort in town. Thanks for helping my mom (and all of us) get ready for challenges ahead. Bucket list trip... a huge success!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    77
    25
    13
    7
See reviews for
185
116
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

What an amazing place so picturesque everything you could need is here ,views,snorkelling gear ,flowers,birds,turtles right out front ,snorkelling 10 minute walk masses of fish and everyday turtles.Very close to waterfront.you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The resort is very quite and peaceful. The grounds at the resort are wonderful! We saw them meticulously taking care of them on a daily basis. The pool area and the BBQ area were wonderful, and nice and clean.

We stayed in condo 2-302. The condo was wonderful, very homey and nicely decorated. The view is just simply beyond words, and in addition to the wonderful views every day, we enjoyed the most beautiful sunsets every evening on the lanai. Even the garden view was great! The beds are the most comfortable I think I've ever slept on. The upstairs bedroom is loving decorated in a dolphin theme for children. The condo is very well stocked with everything you need. The only thing missing is you and a trip to the grocery store for food, which is very close by. Every day we had the pleasure of seeing dolphins go by. It was the wrong time of year to see whales, but if visiting in the early spring you can probably be guaranteed you will see them from the wonderful lanai.

The only negative I have to say is I think it is need of a very deep down cleaning. That's not to say that it wasn't clean, because it was clean and comfortable. It just needs some deep down detail work done. I probably notice these little things more than most because I clean homes for a living. All-in-all I would definitely recommend this to my friends and family, and we definitely will stay at this condo when we go back.

The owners Bruce and Vicki are the greatest to deal with. I had many questions and some requests and emailed them many times. They were quick to respond and so very helpful. A pleasure to deal with!

Room Tip: Room 2-302 amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, BC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just stayed in Unit 7-103. OMG! I can't understand how anyone can rent out such a filthy unit. Upon arrival we found dead roaches, dirty sheets, stained carpets, and a bug infested kitchen. This unit was so bad we never felt comfortable walking in bare feet. The kitchen had cheap Corel dishes, mismatched utensils, cracked tile countertops and broken drawers. There is a serious infestation of small black bugs which continually run all over the counters.
No air conditioning, smelly couches, broken carpet/tile transition, ill-fitting screen doors, broken hide-a-bed... the list goes on. We complained about the bedding on the pull-out as it had crumbs and dead bugs in it. The maids came the next day while we were out and put the same dirty sheets back on, picked up portions of the dead cock-roaches and left.
I would not stay in this unit if it was free, or for that matter if the owners paid me to. It appears there have been no upgrades since the building was built.
The outside amenities are adequate. The pool is old and the barbeques limited. There is no swimmable beach access from this complex.
To be fair, I know others who stayed at this complex in a waterfront condo unit who were very happy, but as far as this unit goes. BEWARE.
K Nelson

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We just stayed a week in unit 2-104 and had a great trip. We had two bedrooms, 2 full baths, full kitchen and dining room and a great lanai on the ground level. Parking was assigned and very close and the breezes through the apt made it clear why A/C is not needed. We never lacked anything from enough dishes to laundry soap to beach chairs and ice. Every appliance was clean and well kept and the furniture was comfy after a long day. With a west-facing apt and no obstructions between us and the water we watched terrific sunsets every night from the lanai. Our only challenge was with the screen doors, but wouldn't you know, Steve already had them slated for replacement this week. Steve was very easy to work with, left us clear but not micromanaging instructions and the week went off without a hitch. We had a car and thought the location was great b/c you could hope on the belt road or Ali'i drive just out of the club; the grocery store is about 300 yards up the hill; and a great beach and snorkeling spot was also about 300 yards away. We would go back in a heartbeat for the location, price, and ease of the whole process.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper or sleep late, be sure you close the windows in the front room on M-W-F a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The condo is right on the shore! My wife and I had breakfasts on the lanai with the ocean waves breaking right below.

The condo is well kept and everything is in working condition, though some appliances show age and could be updated.

The furniture is rich and authentic looking. The unit has plenty of storage space.

The beds/mattresses are good, but too soft for my personal taste.

The condo has two bedrooms upstairs: master with king bed and second bedroom with 2 small beds. The master bedroom windows are looking to the ocean, so it’s get rather loud from the waves breaking, but this kind of noise can be soothing, depending on your mood and perception. The second bedroom is much quieter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This Condo was brilliant. We stayed in Building 6 room 301. It was huge, it had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, living area, kitchen and porch (Lanai). Great value for money right on the ocean. However, you will need a car as it's about 4 miles down to the shopping / restaurant strip of Alii drive. Our only problem was that the toilet broke!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Resort

Address: 78-6800 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: The Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club Resort is a 4-star resort located in Keauhou on the sunny Kona Coast of the Big Island, Hawaii. The resort is adjacent to a sandy beach and was once the residence of four Hawaiian kings including the Great King Kamehameha. There are 197 privately-owned units at the resort with 77 townhouses and 120 condos with some beachfront and many oceanfront units along with ocean and fairway view condos. Townhouse #48 is a charming yet elegant condo situated in the Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club only steps from the beautiful Kona beaches. The condo is stocked with everything you need to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Kailua-Kona
Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.