We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT PASS!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tex Drive In-Kona - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tex Drive In-Kona
75-5660 Kopiko St, Ste D3, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
(808) 327-1777
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT PASS!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The malsadas here are OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! Well worth the calories and the drive from Kona!!! We tried other malsadas at a place south on the island and they have nothing on Tex!!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just a quick stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

After reading the reviews on the big island revealed app, and after stopping at the other bakery and them being completely sold out we ( I ) wanted to stop here at Tex to try their malasadas! I have one word for you! STOP!
OMG....they were the best! Served warm...we didn't get to them until that night, but they were still awesome! Keep them wrapped and they'll be good the next day too. But best eaten right away!
Good job Tex!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very tasty malasadas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The malasadas were yummy - we split some and got other things, too - my son's 3 pancakes were enormous, DH and I had eggs, ham, toast that was fine and provided something besides sugar for the day.

There is a glassed-in kitchen so you can watch the malasada dough being made. Tours visit, so you may be in a long line, but the line seems to move relatively quickly.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mead, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Malasadas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

On your drive around the Big Island of Hawaii, you absolutely have to stop in at Tex's. There you can sample the fresh homemade malasadas-and watch if you like-while they are made. They have several fillings to choose from and naturally, they are warm when you receive them too. There is a lot of seating both in and outside of the restaurant to relax, take in the higher level views of the distant ocean. We have been there every single time we visit and always have enjoyed the taste and the experience! They have several offering from their restaurant menu, but my favorite by far are the malasadas. A local favorite enjoyed by those in the know to stop here when traveling.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Local Food Made Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is casual dining. Tex Drive in is actually in Honokaa. it is an island staple since who knows when. A spot we hit each time we visit the island for their fresh and hot malasadas. This time we grabbed lunch and both had a burger and WOW, we were surprised and pleased. A good tasting and fresh burger. We were both pleased with a great tasting burger that was really made by the sweet bread bun it was served on. This is a favorite among locals but we noticed a small tour bus dropping off tourists. Outdoor and indoor seating is available and the bakery is on display so you an see how the malasadas are made. They offer an array of fillings for your dessert if you're inclined. Excellent choice if you're willing to make the drive. If so, browse the quaint downtown to support local business.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tex Drive In-Kona also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tex Drive In-Kona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.