We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmm Sashimi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ohana Sportfishing Adventures

Ohana Sportfishing Adventures
Honokohau Small Boat Harbor, 74-380 Kealakehe Parkway slip D-3, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2704
+1 808-854-7760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 204 Activities in Kailua-Kona
Type: Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We specialize in private custom charters for up to 6 people. Sorry, no shared charters.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Dewey, Arizona
1 review
“Mmmmmm Sashimi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had a fabulous time with Ohana Sportfishing. Geri was very pleasant arranging the timing for the trip. Chris and Ryan were awesome on the boat. We headed out on a beautiful spring day, Ryan rigged up five lines, and in the first 30 minutes - bam! We hooked a 500 pound blue marlin. I was lucky enough to get to reel her in. She put up a great fight and 30-some minutes later, she was swimming along side the boat. Chris and Ryan tagged her and then yanked the hook, so she could head off and give another angler a wonderful day. After that, we headed out to sashimi country. There were schools of bait-fish swarming the surface, trying to flee from the tuna below. We caught two skipjack and one yellowfin. All three were about 12-15 pounds. We also saw two whales. When we got back to the harbor, Ryan slice those babies up and bagged them for dinner. We ate some lightly seared and some more as sashimi the next day - yum!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaSportfishing, Owner at Ohana Sportfishing Adventures, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Wow, what a great trip with a fun group - hope to see you again, soon. A hui hou and thanks for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fish and whales and MORE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Chris, Lance and Gerri were so wonderful and welcoming! We had such a blast spending our morning with them- they even sang happy birthday to our wonderful mom! It was my first time fishing in years and they were so helpful and honest - winter isn't the best time to catch fish but WE DID!!!!! We caught some skipjack and yellowfin.We were able to see gorgeous views of the Big Island and Maui. We also so so many Whales! My only complaint was that we had only booked a morning charter and didn't hang out all day on the ocean. So much fun! Do yourself a favor and go with these guys - it was a true Hawaiian experience and so much fun!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaSportfishing, Owner at Ohana Sportfishing Adventures, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
You guys were such a fun group - we would love to keep you out all day, next time! Mahalo and Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I will be a repeat customer !!!!😀”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

During our stay we went fishing twice with them , we had a great time each time. Caught fish each trip out and built some great memories . They worked very hard to ensure a good time was had by all.
Thanks again
From Soldotna Alaska

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaSportfishing, Owner at Ohana Sportfishing Adventures, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Mahalo for your feedback and sure hope to see you again next time you get too chilly in Alaska!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fishing Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Based on our research we knew the Dec/Jan time frame for fishing was not the peak season, but we were looking for a great time on the water. Ohana sportfishing definately delivered. Chris and Geri and crew (Scooter) were wonderful. They were very responsive on the planning side and were great to talk to during the trip. The boat was well cared for, clean and spacious enough for my family to relax and get some sun. To top off the trip, we caught a 71lb Ahi Tuna and had a spear fish chasing the lures. I am not sure who was more excited that we caught a fish, me or Ohana. It was a great time and I would highly recommend Ohana Sportfishing. I will definately be back next time I am in Hawaii.

Visited December 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaSportfishing, Owner at Ohana Sportfishing Adventures, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Mahalo for your great review, Richard! Glad you had a great time - we did, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun, Family and Fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Beautiful day, big & comfortable boat and a phenomenal crew! My young family and I have fished with Ohana twice and I can't recommend them strongly enough. The kids have room to roam and play while the adults cruised or fished hard. Everybody was happy for 8 hours! Be honest, when was the last time everyone in your family was happy for eight hours in the same place? Geri, Chris and Molly are top notch in customers service. Thanks guys. Oh yeah, we also caught Mahi and Tuna.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaSportfishing, Owner at Ohana Sportfishing Adventures, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
What a fun group! Hope you will think of us again when it gets to cold in Canada - we are always ready for another adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohana Sportfishing Adventures also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ohana Sportfishing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohana Sportfishing Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.