We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chris and Geri are a great team who will go the extra mile to make sure you have a great trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ohana Sportfishing Adventures

Ohana Sportfishing Adventures
Honokohau Small Boat Harbor, 74-380 Kealakehe Parkway slip D-3, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2704
+1 808-854-7760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 49 attractions in Kailua-Kona
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We specialize in private custom charters for up to 6 people. Sorry, no shared charters.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chris and Geri are a great team who will go the extra mile to make sure you have a great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I needed a charter at short notice after a friend had to back out of a planned trip. Chris and Geri worked to fit us in for a half day and Chris made sure to put us on fish suitable for my 10 year old to have interest and fun. Yes we did troll for Marlin on the way out but Chris then switched things up when we spotted some Mahi and we had good fun free lining strip bait. Chris then tried to put us on some Wahoo showing that he was listening when we had our initial discussion about the trip. Good job Chris.

Chris and Mike were both super informative and happy to share tips an tricks with me. As for the boat what a beauty; ignore the fact that she is older than many; Chris and Geri have done a superb job to set up the beautiful boat in tip- top shape and far better than many far newer boats I have been on. All in all a great experience and we will be back for a full day next trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaSportfishing, Owner at Ohana Sportfishing Adventures, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Aloha Mark,
Mahalo for the kind words, we loved having your family on the Ohana. Just let us know when you are ready to take another shot at it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Unforgettable, once in a lifetime experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Chris and Mike are both great fishermen with loads of knowledge and passion for the sport. Chris knew where to find the fish and early on in the trip we caught an Ono and a mahi mahi. After that I wanted to try to catch my first blue marlin. Again, Chris knew where to go and the blues started biting. After only a couple bites from small ones, a big 500-600 pounder decided to give us a fight. It was hooked for a good 15 minutes or so and the fight was something I will never forget! It jumped just yards from the boat and i couldn't believe my eyes! it was HUGE!! It was an unbelievable feeling trying to get it to the boat but unfortunately, it came off and was gone. We had a total of 4 marlin bites that day which is exceptional! I enjoyed the experience and I will definitely be back on the Ohana to try to land my first blue marlin. Chris and Mike are both not only great fishermen but great coaches and were great coaches when I was in the chair. They truly want and know how to catch you the fish you want. No other boat is as fun and enjoyable as the Ohana!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Blue Marlin Fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We fished on the Ohana on Sunday July 14th. Fished hard and tagged and released 2 Blue Marlin. Captain and crew were great and knowledgeable. The tackle, rods and reels were first class. Everything professionally rigged and ready to go. Boat was great,well kept,clean and ran great. Comfortable to fish on. Will definitely fish with them again when we go back.
The Drennan Family- New Orleans,LA

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaSportfishing, Owner at Ohana Sportfishing Adventures, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Aloha Jon,
We miss you and those 2 blue marlin we released are still out there - only bigger, now! Hope to see you in Kona again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
“Amazing boat, captain, crew, and company!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The boat is amazing, the captain is very knowledgable, and the crew does all the work for you...except for reeling in the fish, that's the best part and that's when you can put your "drink" down and get your hands dirty. It's an amazing experience that every family should do. Everyone on board was there for a different reason and Ohana Sportfishing delivered the perfect experience to all of us, some whale watching, dolphin racing, fish trolling, and even time for a quick nap.

Don't hestiate for a second, call them and book it!

Visited April 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohana Sportfishing Adventures also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ohana Sportfishing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohana Sportfishing Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ohana Sportfishing Adventures to your Saves list