We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok PIZZA IN A HARD TO FIND SPOT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mahina Pizza

Mahina Pizza
75-5744 Alii Drive, Kona Inn Shopping Village, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
808 326 1577
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 209 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Captain Cook, Hawaii
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“ok PIZZA IN A HARD TO FIND SPOT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

GOOD pizza but there are better. beats the chain places tho and some of the preppers are better then others. Good seasonings and the dough can be real perfect at times. Don't go as often anymore since I moved up in Kona coffee country a ways away. Worth a try and usually very quiet in the seating area. Parking is tough but ck the lots to the south and don't pay for it. That is not needed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glen ellyn, il
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Don't pass this one up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Okay, so getting to the top of the stairs is a little disconcerting, the place may be empty...but sit down and have a pizza. Easily the best pizza in kona area, excellent thin crust, crunchy crust, fresh ingredients. Bring your own beer if need be, but it is too good of a pizza to pass up. While eating, watch the parrot guy work his deal on the street below. Make a game of it, try to guess which tourists he will try to work on.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just OK Pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

There is not a lot of great pizza in Kona. This was just OK. Not the best or the worst I've had here. I wouldn't go out of my way to eat here, but if you are in the area and need a pizza fix, this does the job. A NY style pizza. The crust could have been better, seemed a bit flat to me. Restaurant is located right on Ali'i in the Kona Inn Center, upstairs. Very reasonably priced. No alcohol. BYOB.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
“Family Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We visit Kona every summer (for the last 8 years) and the first priority on our list of things to do is eat at Mahina Pizza! Our kids and us all love it! The food is fantastic and the salad is to die for!
The atmosphere is as it should be..... layed back and comfortable. LOVE IT. Why ask for a hustle-bustle place when you are in the islands?!

When you come to Mahina Pizza, come with an open relaxed mind, and simply enjoy the food and the outdoors!

The manager/owner is beyond friendly and accommodating. Wish she would have a store in Peoria AZ!! We love her!

If you want good food, great price, and relaxing atmosphere with a nice hostess, this is the place for you!
Can't wait to eat there over Memorial Day Week when we arrive!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good pizza & great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Very affordable pizza for Kona,Good food and service!
Very affordable pizza for Kona,Good food and service!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahina Pizza also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Mahina Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahina Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.