We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Thai food, but kinda divey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok House

Bangkok House
75-5626 Kuakini Hwy Ste 5, King Kamehameha Mall, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3116
808-329-7764
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 209 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Dacula, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very good Thai food, but kinda divey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The food was very good. Extra spicy, just like I love it. The water to drink is fruit infused, which is very nice. The restaurant itself is kinda "divey" and not what I usually see/expect in a Thai restaurant. Service is very good.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kawaihae, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beware”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This review is difficult for me to write. We have been eating at Bangkok House for over eleven years. It has always been our favorite Thai restaurant in the ENTIRE world. They do have the best Thai food I have ever eaten. However, after having lunch there yesterday I don't know that we can go back. Many years ago they had a roach problem which we thought they had gotten under control. We had a lovely lunch and as we were finishing up an adult roach sashays out onto our table to drink the condensation off our water glass. We called the serve over and she said they had sprayed the night before. I realize that living in HI bugs can be an issue. But restaurants shouldn't have roach problems. And Anyplace else they would be shut down. I don't know that I can eat there anymore with the thought of roaches roaming in the kitchen and even worse in the dining room.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, CO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“$3.00 for rice?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Toasty warm inside. Carryout wold have been a better option. Nice server though. Rice dishes do not come with rice. We learned when we got the bill that a small bowl of rice is $1.50 & another $1.50 when you ask for more. $15 breaded fish was tasty good & good portion - just remember to add the rice. Menu names only in English. Below average decor. We probably won't go back and try the noodle dishes for fear that noodles are extra ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had a family style dinner, 5 adults and a baby
Food and service what's to be expected in an Asian low key family restaurant.
Lots of good dishes to choose from, and all dishes we had were very good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Our first visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Some items on menu very good-spicy fried rice and shrimp salad, medium. The crab fried rice really average. Summer rolls are good as is peanut dipping sauce. Water has fresh fruit infused-very nice touch. Service great-Charlie very sweet and attentive. I will give it another try.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok House also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Bangkok House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.