We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai food ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Thai Cuisine

Orchid Thai Cuisine
74-5555 Kaiwi St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3193
808-327-9437
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 209 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Waddell, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Thai food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This place is the best! We tried Orchid Thai Cuisine based on a recommendation from a local, and we sure are glad we did. It was so good, we went back twice during our short trip to Hawaii.

We try Thai Tom Yum soup everywhere we go, and I've never had it this good before. Everything else we tried on the menu was just as good. The place doesn't look like much from the outside, but if you are looking for great food, go inside and enjoy. The staff is very friendly, the service is excellent and above all the food is just wonderful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago,Il
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We went to this restaurant on the recommendation of a local who loved their food. I ordered the peanut chicken appetizer and sticky rice which was only fair. The other person ordered the chicken Pad Thai and said it was fair as well. Service was a bit slow which was okay since we werent in a hurry but I wouldnt really recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Wish I could give more stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I wanted to like this place, but didn't really. It's in an odd location - a small strip mall next to a bar. It appears to be family run - very young children were waiting on tables. The owner (?)/chef also waits on tables and seems nice. Ultimately though, i thought the food was only average. The crab cakes didn't taste fresh and curries we had were plain. The interior clearly needs some work, but I won't rate them down for that. The prices are reasonable, but I think there are better Thai places nearby.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A seriously bad day or in decline?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Reading earlier reviews of the Orchid Thai, I must conclude they either have gone into serious decline or were having a very bad day. We arrived for an early dinner and were the second party seated. We sat for a full 20 minutes before getting a glass of water. At that time we ordered tea and that took and additional 15 minutes. Another 15 minutes and our pupu platter arrived. Alas, it looked so much better than it tasted. The satay skewers were tepid and dry. The wings were hot but leaden and tasting of old oil. All else was undistinguished. Our entrees arrived and were small portion for their prices. The pad thai lacked flavored and contained virtually no pork – our selected protein. The volcano chicken was bread strips of chicken breast, deep fried and served on bland vegetables. The wait for the check and the crediting process added about another 20 minutes to our visit. I visit the Orchid Thai several times a season each year and found this the worst experience. With the assortment of Thai restaurants available in Kona, I choose not to unduly wait for and overpay for small portions of non-descript food poorly served.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“BYOB!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Went here twice during our two week stay on B.I. On a budget. Stopped at Long's or Costco for wine. We loved this place. Funky location but nice atmosphere inside. Good service. Great value. Dinner for two - $24! Liked the Pu Pu Platter and Pad Thai. Everything fresh and well prepared. Wish we had this in Boston.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid Thai Cuisine also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Orchid Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.