We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're here for another couple of weeks & we've found our Thai spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Thai Cafe

Royal Thai Cafe
78-6831 Alii Dr, Ste 402, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
(808) 322-8424
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 234 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Plymouth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“We're here for another couple of weeks & we've found our Thai spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had the Spring Rolls, Chicken Satay, and Pad Thai. Everything was excellently prepared and fantastic! The Spring Rolls came with a delicous sweet & hot honey mustard. We loved them! The Chicken Satay was perfect, crisp and juicy, and served with two wonderful sauces, the traditional Peanut Sauce, that had the typical spiciness, but also a lovely sweetness, and a sweet vinegar cucumber sauce. Both sauces were great.

The Pad Thai also had a lovely sweetness in it, with very thin rice noodles, and excellently cooked shrimp, chicken and veggies.

We're here for another couple of weeks & we've found our Thai spot!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    44
    23
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Ok and Healthy !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We tried this place out the first night we were in the area based on all the reviews. It was also very close to the Sheraton as that is where we were staying.
It was very quiet with only another group of four people in there. I am not sure what dishes we exactly ordered but the vegatables were perfectly done with a sauce - they provided a small dish of rice with the meal - I also enjoyed some Thai beer !
Everything was good - It would have been nice to get a little more rice with your meal......the portions were not super large - and the price I would say was average for the area.
We walked away satisfied - not full but satisfied plus alot healthier that some of other choices we could have made.
I think I could say I would recommend it if you are in the area and looking maybe for something different.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not Sure it is Worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We got take out from this restaurant last night. Here is my feedback:

Good

Pad Thai- this was prepared pretty traditionally, was a decent portion and pretty tasty. It had shrimp, purple cabbage and peanuts

Ok

Shrimp Fried Rice

Looked kind of grey in color, but tasted ok

Bad

Green curry chicken. No real curry taste, barely any chicken and the chicken in the dish was super thin slices. The color of the curry was very pale and it was watery. No flavor here.

Worst part of the meal is I found a small piece of metal in my food, sort of like from a scrubber used to clean the pans. Couldn't eat the rest after that.

I have eaten here in the past and don't remember it being anything special, but I think it is coming off the list now. We only ate here because it is close to the condo where we stay.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Food...some of the best thai food I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We ate here 2 our of our 4 nights in Kona -- wish we had eaten here all 4 nights. We loved the food so much, we just wanted to try everything. We enjoy spicy, flavorful food and this really far exceeded our expectations. Was definitely some of the best Thai food we have ever had, and we eat a lot of Thai food. Wish the restaurant were in a better location, the shopping center is very desolate at night time and makes the restaurant seem isolated.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great service with good food. Were a lot of people there so we were a little concerned, but that went away quickly with the level of the service and quality of the food

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai Cafe also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Royal Thai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Thai Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.