We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
75-5776 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1758
808-331-8442
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 234 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“What a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place has the best spot in Kona, waterfront! The food is good but not great. The smoothies and lemonade are one of the best we've tried. This is a casual restaurant and the customer service is the best in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    252
    136
    41
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bubba Gump Happy Hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Bubba Gump fish tacos offered during Happy Hour are fantastic. Went there twice during our visit; first time with the family, the second with family and friends. Great atmosphere and great prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Aweeesome service - Yummy Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is definitely a MUST SEE....if you like FORREST GUMP the MOVIE, you will LOVE everything about this restaurant...I bought a few BUBBA GUMP souveniers home for my kids, they loved it.....

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“All View - No Quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family and I recently had dinner at what used to be one of the fun places to eat in Kailua. The restaurant undoubtedly has the best location in the area as it sits right on Kailua Bay with an unobstructed view. We are far from food snobs but found the fare this time around to be truly subpar even by chain restaurant standards. We were told that the chain had recently been bought out and maybe cost cutting has forced this once decent place to eat into it's current state. Staples like southern fried chicken are OK but the seafood, which is not inexpensive, is just not worth it. If you want an incredible setting for dinner but can lower your expectations on the food side then give it a try. We were sadly disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food, great souvenirs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Everything we had was great. Enjoyed the steamed shrimp and chocolate chip cookie for dessert. Conveniently located. Fun bubba gump souvenirs.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.