We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down Home in Kona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Island Grill

Big Island Grill
75-5702 Kuakini Hwy, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1717
808-326-1153
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 241 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Takeout
Tulsa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Down Home in Kona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Big Island Grill is off Ali'i drive in Kona, but it's worth looking for. It's a local place, and offers a wide variety of food. We stopped there for breakfast. Wife had pancakes, bacon and eggs, and I had spam Loco-Moco just for fun. Nothing on the plate survived the experience! If you're not familiar with Loco Moco, it's an island specialty. Start off with a bed of rice, then add some kind of protein (hamburger pattie or span is most common), then top it off with a fried egg, then pour brown gravy over everything. Sounds totally crazy, but tastes wonderful. As a plus, if you survive the resulting heart attack, you're set for the day!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    242
    62
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“It's been a year -- and the food's still great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Haven't been back to Kailua-Kona for a year but after our quick flight from Honolulu -- we were famished. Instead of heading out to the resort for an overpriced mediocre breakfast -- we drove into Kailua-Kona to the Big Island Grill. What a great place for breakfast (served till 10:30 am); Pork chops and eggs or try the chicken katsu locotra moco. Chicken katsu is a deep fried chicken thigh breaded in panko -- crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. Take that, plop it over a bed of rice (I had brown rice) and their fabulous brown gravy and a perfectly cooked fried egg and you're halfway to heaven. You can choose your loco moco protein at the Big Island Grill -- traditional hamburger patty, spam, Portuguese sausage, other stuff. Can't make up your mind? Get the BIG loco -- and choose three. My wife ordered the pork chops and eggs -- two perfectly cooked porkchops, eggs, hashbrowns. And the server, kindly asked if she'd like some gravy too!. Good service, lots of locals, kid friendly, just a great place to eat whether you're visiting Kona for the first time or a repeat traveler like me. It's one my go to places on the Big Island.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hearty portions and everything so tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Location is popular with the locals and for good reason. Food was very affordable. Portions were huge and everything was finger-licking good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klickitat, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Big Island Grill bring Big Island Appetite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great place for Island food. Generous portions at a very fair price. Filling and tasty after a hard days playing. Have eaten there several times in the past and it never disappoints. Atmosphere is very family oriented with local families and friends often sharing large tables. Definitely a locals place with casual attire - we were the only anglos in the place this last trip but felt very welcome as always. Aloha is abundant here! Had the managers plate - choice of two out of 12 entrees to share the plate. I went with Kalua Pork and a beef with vegies dish. My son had Katsu Chicken and Kalua Pork. Will go again nice trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Big Island Grill had plenty of seating so there was no wait. My husband and I both got the fish and chips. When they brought out the food, our fish was hot and tasty but the sides of fries and mashed potatoes were brought out cold. My husband got a bowl of Saimin which he enjoyed, but I didn't really like. Food was brought out fast and the waiter was very friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Island Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Big Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Island Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.