We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steps to Upstairs Dining” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pancho & Lefty's Cantina

Pancho & Lefty's Cantina
75-5719 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1738
808-326-2171
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 209 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Steps to Upstairs Dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Food is ok..Nothing Great ..$10-15 a person . Not a lot of food on plate for price. Pay for the view of Ali'i... Beer not the Coldest.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    77
    55
    32
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place for A Quick Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We dropped by downtown Kona to walk around a bit. The entrance to Pancho & Lefty's Cantina caught our eye, and it was very nice that they had their menu on display on the ground level because the restaurant is on the second floor.
Good Mexican food at a reasonable price. You can also watch the other tourists walking back and forth. It is worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for people-watchers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stopped for dinner while shopping in town. Their menu is pretty diverse ranging from fish burritos to Mexican pizza to Texas cheeseburgers. I highly suggest trying the Lava Flow. We sat overlooking Alii Drive, ate our chips and salsa, and just watched the people all night. Our food was good, but just like every other Mexican place where we've eaten.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Came in for lost lunch, left with a great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We sat in the bar overlooking the main street. We had some happy hour margaritas and some chips and salsa. Sarah was on the spot with everything. We asked for a good beach and she gave a great recommendation. We stayed for lunch and had the carnitas, at the bartenders recommendation. So glad that we stayed! Would highly reccomended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Lovely fish tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Always visit here & never disappointed. We were served quickly with drinks, chips and salsa as we enjoyed watching those on the street below the balcony. The fish salad taco was filled with a variety of fresh fish which was washed down nicely by local beer. We'll be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho & Lefty's Cantina also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Pancho & Lefty's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pancho & Lefty's Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.