We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Style PERFECTION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umekes

Umekes
75-143 Hualalai Road, Suite #105, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-329-3050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 209 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Umekes is the home of the True Authentic Fresh Hawaiian Ahi Poke Bowls! Umekes means Bowl in the Hawaiian language and we have Poke bowls for everyone. Umekes will create your Poke bowl the way you want it raw or grilled (pulehu) with healthy sides you can get your high protein and low fat for the day. We serve samples to our customers as we want you to be able to happy with your Poke bowl. Stop by our two locations open Monday through Saturday for your Poke Pleasure. Alii Plaza and Lanihau Shopping Center. Call ahead and order or scoop on by Umekes where Aloha is served daily!
Hilo, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Local Style PERFECTION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Saw alot of people posting about "Umekes" on Instagram, so I figured I give them a try. OMG!!!!! To die for!!!!!! Fish is oh so FRESH, VERY tasty dishes, and staff is very friendly!! EVERY time I'm in KONA Umekes is a MUST!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    36
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fresh and good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Poke was great and so was their lemonade. Served in a large mason jar. First time we went there the staff was really helpful - not too busy at the time but the next time we went on Saturday and the girl that served us was very unknowledgeable about the products and the prices - very confused and slow and kept interrupting the other staff as she was serving customers. She also always overcharged on the price as we were buying by weight.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Poke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I liked this place a lot. I LOVE poke. And other places had good poke. This place stands out because of the staff. Very helpful, especially for "first timers."

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best poke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This place is awesome! We ate there several times as well as buying fresh Ono to take home for dinner. Owner and staff are super helpful and the poke bowls are delicious and reasonable. The fresh fish depends on what he has available. It was delicious and the price is better than at the harbor. This place is a must if you like poke!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Sooooo Ono!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I LOVEEEEE THIS PLACE! The people are so nice once you walk in. The fish is always fresh and it's amazingly Good.SO GOOD!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umekes also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Umekes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umekes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.