We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, food and waiter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge

Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge
72-100 Kaupulehu Dr. 0, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI (Formerly 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 209 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Queen Ka'ahumanu Hwy
Description: ‘ULU Ocean Grill & Sushi Lounge is the breathtaking new oceanfront fish and seafood restaurant at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, where Executive Chef James Babian’s acclaimed “R.S.A. - Regional, Seasonal and Artisanal” cuisine is served in Hawaii’s most beautiful setting - alongside the surf and under the stars. The restaurant showcases a stylish blend of Hawaiian architecture and modern flair - a lively, informal setting where guests are inspired, surprised and delighted by the Hawaii’s beauty and the flavors of the Pacific, through an innovative menu with playful tableside presentation. Cuisine is prepared oven roasted, flame grilled and wok fired, while an extensive wine list, with a special selection of boutique wines is presented via iPad. The modern sushi lounge and ocean view bar feature the Island's freshest sushi, as well as craft cocktails, sake and Japanese beers. Casual, friendly and knowledgeable servers guide guests through a social dining experience not to be forgotten.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Amazing view, food and waiter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Food was lovely (fantastic gyoza), waiter from my home town south of Montreal!!! Ambiance spectacular (on ocean).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    37
    21
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Farm to market dinner with the Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is unbelievable ... make a reservation and be treated like royalty , have a fresh dinner served on the beach with the Executive chef, we asked for a got a personal tour of the kitchen by the chef himself, we also ate a sumptuous breakfast here everyday during our stay

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Breakfast on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Could not eat any closer to the ocean without getting wet! Unbelievable quality of food and daily changing of selections

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner by Ocean's Edge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

During our one week stay in Keauhou, Big Island, we ate three meals at Four Seasons Hualalai Resort. Our last night we ate at the Uhu Ocean Grill. The Grill offers beautiful oceanside dining. The setting of this resort and restaurant is stunningly beautiful. The cuisine and abundance of local fish choices made this a hit with me. The service was perfect, the cuisine scrumptious and the views cannot be beaten. Even though this restaurant is a good 30 minutes from our condo in Keauhou, it is well worth the drive. We enjoyed getting to know staff throughout the hotel and they all have the Five Star welcoming attitude and training. We were so thrilled to find what we consider the best restaurants on the Big Island at this resort. The beautiful golf course is also a draw plus the gorgeous ocean vistas and splashing whales. We will return always when on the Big Island.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Would have been excellent except for one flaw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

The view at this restaurant is specatacular. A beautiful spot to eat and watch the sunset. The decor is very nice. The food was quite good. However, the one flaw was that my steak was a tad tough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.