We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired of waiting for food. Awesome fish tacos we'll never see!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Hippie Grill - CLOSED

Beach Hippie Grill
75-5707 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
808-326-7836
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tired of waiting for food. Awesome fish tacos we'll never see!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My Wife and I have been in Kailua-Kona for 3 days now and have seen the "Amazing Fish Tacos" sign on Ali'i Drive every day. Today after kayaking we decided we had to try these fish tacos. A nice greeter showed us our table and gave us menus, We decided to split an order of fish tacos and one chicken tacos. We waited for 10 minutes and finally brought out some hot chips and salsa. The chips were good but the salsa was almost a puree from the blender, and lacked any flavor. After another 10 minutes we started asking our waiter about our food.All we were told is it was coming right out. After staring at our waiter in the kitchen, he finally asked the cook if the order was about ready. More clattering of pans was all we heard. We looked at the couple in the next table who were also waiting to be "amazed" and quickly losing their patience too. We couldn't stand the wait any longer and walked out. I hope the other couple was lucky enough to have ordered the same tacos as us and didn't have to wait much longer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    43
    27
    8
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing fish tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was on the island for 3 days and went there for dinner twice. Tried fish at 2 other places and it was dry and service was bad. Great atmosphere here - live band, friendly staff, and best of all the fish tacos.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Fish Tacosn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

You don't go here for the decor, but the fish tacos are among the best I've had anywhere. Very fresh Ono with a nice flavoring seasoning. I never have a sauce on my fish tacos, but you have to try theirs. Even the chips are made fresh, hot and very fresh and I would go here just for the salsa! They are small tacos so order the 4 tacos per person , you won't want to share. Service is a little slow I think because they start only after you order. You're in Hawaii, whats the hurry anyway?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Good enough to go back multiple times in the course of 10 days to get their tacos. Both the fish(Ono ) and the chicken tacos were the best on the island. Good selection of beer, mixed drinks and wine. Our waitperson, Rachel, did a great job on all of our visits. It's a little whole in the wall and easy to miss when walking by....but do make it a must eat place while in Kona. What they say on the board out front, reviewed by TripAdvisor and Zagat 2013, caught our attention on our first trip. One word of caution...their tortilla chips with their own special sauce are terrific but Hot!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Drinks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Service was slow and made drinks behind the bar, in the kitchen, didn't see how they made it and nothing great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Hippie Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Hippie Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.