We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broke da Mouth Grindz

Broke da Mouth Grindz
74-5565 Luhia St., Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
(808) 327-1113
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 234 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had the furikake chicken during my vacay on the Big Island and it was amazing!!! Probably one of the best chickens I've ever eaten in my life! Totally glad that I got a chance to try it. They have a large menu and alot of other stuff looked good on the menu, so I'd recommend you to give this place a try if you're staying in Kona!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing local flavor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Loved this placed. We ordered one of the chicken and braised short ribs bento box specials. It also came with an egg and sea weed rice. This was our favorite dish here on the island. The beef was tender and the chicken was juicy and flavorful. Def. check it out if you're looking for local flavor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua Kona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food..... but.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

A group of co-workers ordered take out and everyone love what they ordered. Very tasty local plates. Delicious sweet potato salad, garlic chicken and shrimp. But, this restaurant is in serious need of a "make over". The carpets are DIRTY, walls need fresh paint. Hawaiian art would look nice on the walls. Tables could be improved. The food was so good and if I hadn't had so many friends give a good recommendation I would have walked out as soon as I saw the condition of the diningroom. I'm glad I stayed and ordered their fantastic take-out. I hope the owners will make the much needed improvements so they will stay in business.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“What? Inside a laundromat?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Recommended by a local. This is a must do restaurant! Try the loco moco or the garlic chicken. If you have attitude or think or think it's going to be a luxurious experience don't go. If you like finding local spots with the best food, this place is for you!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Last Chance spam musubi at the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

About a month ago, Broke da Mouth Grindz opened a shop at the KOA airport. it's where the old rental car counters were. Terrible signage - am told the airport won't let them put up anything better. I would never have known they were there except the Alaska Airlines guy told me about "across the street". Nice Portuguese sausage and fried rice breakfast; my wife had a special lunch plate spaghetti and toast - ono! I had to buy a spam musubi roll to go to eat on the plane.

The only place to get food outside of security at the airport. Stop by the Ellison Onizuka NASA memeriol across the stree while you're there. it's worth it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broke da Mouth Grindz also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Broke da Mouth Grindz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broke da Mouth Grindz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.