We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and Breakfast Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ohi'a Park Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ohi'a Park Estate
73-4671 Kahualani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bed and Breakfast Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Ohi’a Park Estate on the Big Island, we felt welcome. The care and attention that our hosts put into making our stay as pleasant as possible was outstanding. We’ve travelled extensively to many parts of the globe, but nowhere have we had a better bed and breakfast experience.

The three-acre estate is at about 1600 feet above sea level, with well-maintained lawns and plants, in a peaceful, quiet neighborhood. Our suite was large and comfortable, with a contemporary shower and spacious bathroom. The beds and bedding are truly luxurious, and with the windows open to the gentle breezes, sleeping was wonderful. In addition to our suite, there is an expansive deck from which we enjoyed sea views, and a beautiful sunset.

The breakfasts on the outdoor terrace included a wonderful mix of fresh island fruits, eggs as you like them, choices of yogurts and breads, and coffee to die for! My wife is gluten free, and our hosts went to great lengths to accommodate her special dietary needs.

Our visit to Hawaii on this occasion was to celebrate my wife’s 60th birthday. Not only did our hosts decorate the breakfast table in birthday style, they gave her gifts and roses! Over the top – just fabulous!

Every evening included either pre-dinner wine, or a nightcap, during which time we enjoyed their company and ideas for our next days adventure. They know a great deal about the island and the best ways to enjoy it, and we certainly followed and appreciated their advice.

We recommend this bed and breakfast without reservation to all – and particularly to those looking for somewhere very special to celebrate a life event.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edel1993, Inhaber at Ohi'a Park Estate, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Aloha Kathy and Stuart
Thank you for your splendid and kind review; we highly appreciate it. It confirms that we are on the right track with our B&B. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great time here on the Big Island. Thank you again for having been our guest and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Who knows?
And again: “Mahalo nui loa”
Daniel and Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked a 10 day trip for Big Island and stayed for the whole journey at the Ohi'a Park Estate. We were positively surprised and are convinced to have chosen the pertect accommodation.
Ohi'a Park Estate is located in an expansive lush tropical park (about 2acres) in a residential calm neighborhood with above average sized guest suites. The breathtaking ocean view from the large deck is unforgettable.
The perfectly organized team pampered us during our stay and a delicious breakfast was served daily. The suite, tastefully decorated in Island style, was always spotless clean.
Due to the elevation (1450f above sea) there was no need for an a/c and we always slept perfectly.
Done town Kona can be reached within 10 minutes.
Ohi'a Park Estate is a true insiders' tip we can highly recommend.
Ruth R.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was our second weekend at one of the most beautiful B&B's on the Big Island of Hawaii! We were greeted with 18 long stem roses in our room, as a "Birthday Happy", absolutly stunning and totally unexpected. What a way to kickoff a tremendous 2 day stay.

The grounds are awesome, and the setting is outstanding with views that go directly to the ocean and North Kona. The rooms are elegant, roomy and with delightful touches that make the stay even more eventful, and rememberable! Your hosts spare no expense to give you the most during your stay. The rec-room has the best in exercise equipment, a beautiful pool table, and music to boot. The lanai, the deck, the furnishings are comfortable, relaxing and allows one to just sit back and relax and take in the warm breeze coming up from the ocean. And if that isn't enough, a Barbecue Grill, Microwave Oven, and a 4-person SPA await you on the deck as well!

The breakfast is like no other at any B & B I have ever experienced. It offers both European and American elements; your hosts outdo themselves in making sure that you have plenty to eat and more, and with a flair for the best and the mostest.

We look forward to another stay at this glorious B&B, hosted by two of the most generous people I have met. They make you not want to leave, and their establishment is like a home you could live in for a long long time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain Cook, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I took a few days off and decided to stay on the island, but wanted to get away from home. I had heard good things about Ohi'a Park Estate so I gave it a try. One of the best decisions I have made. The place is great and Robert and Daniel are incredible hosts. The suite was so clean and fresh. The bed was so comfee I could have stayed in it my entire stay. The first day I was there I started off with unwinding in the jacuzzi and every day after I did the same. One day I decided to go down to the beach and Daniel made me lunch to go which included sandwichs, chips, vegies and dip, also drinks. My own little picnic!!! Each morning I was served breakfest on the lower lanai, after I would have coffee in my room and lounge around a bit. After dinner cocktails were a great touch. The best B&B I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Room #4 is at the end of the lanai and offers the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great location in a residential neighborhood only 10 minutes from down town Kona.
We stayed here for several days and loved it. Our spacious suite was very well furnished and always kept spotless clean. It offered all the amenities of a 5star Hotel.
Breakfast served at your own table on the deck overlooking tropical grounds was freshly prepared and delicious.
Daniel and Robert, thank you for being so great hosts and for giving us this feel of pampered luxury!
We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back soon. We can highly recommand this place!
Bernhard und Ursula Pfander

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ohi'a Park Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohi'a Park Estate

Address: 73-4671 Kahualani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our aim is to be your “home away from home”. We focus on quality, luxurious, sustainable lodging for our guests. Our newly in 2012 opened house is more than just a great bed and breakfast. We create an environment of pampered luxury that surpasses the standard. Our 2-room suites are individually decorated in Island Style and range in size from 580 sq.ft. (54m2) up to 650 sq.ft. (60m2). The bathrooms are designed in an elegant contemporary SPA-style in travertine, with showers, wood vanities with glass sinks and double mirrors. An exclusive Bed and Breakfast surrounded by huge native Hawai'ian Ohi'a trees on 3 acres of lush tropical grounds with breathtaking ocean views, all the luxury and comfort you deserve, outstanding personal service, overwhelming hospitality and guest rooms that are beyond your expectations. Daniel Peter Gross and Robert Edel will gladly help to make your stay an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ohi'a Park Estate Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohi'a Park Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ohi'a Park Estate to your Saves list