We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all cost” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Taco del Mar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taco del Mar
73-4038 Hulikoa Dr., Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 234 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid at all cost”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Let me start by saying that I used to go to this place at least once a week for 2 years and loved everything about it.
But, after new management took over almost a year ago I had consistent bad expieriences over and over. so much so that I said I would never go back.
Tonight I decided to give it another shot and I wish I didnt.
I got there an hour and a half before closing and they were already putting stuff away. I ordered tacos with ground beef and the girl sighed loud enough for me to hear and said they were out and she didnt have time to make more. While taking the soft shell out of the press she ripped it and just kept on making it.
Then, after putting on my toppings her phone rang so she left me standing there to go answer it. About 2 mins later a guy came out and grabbed my tacos with his bare hands and asked if I was done. I was shocked at how rude and unsanitary these people were. It is really said that these people have truly ran one of my favorite places into the ground.
Whatever you do, do not waste your money on this place there are way better places to eat trust me. For really nice authentic Mexican try El Maguey or Rosas Cantini both within a mike of this dive.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Robbed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was tired of 'hawaiian' fried food and wanted something fresher and cheaper so I asked for the item with the most amount of vegetables, I was told it was the taco salad. So I ordered it along with a soda (had to throw it away; lemonade tasted like chemicals). Well I get the salad (add-on of guacamole, extra charge!) and it filled with iceberg lettuce, only a few beans on the bottom, some strands of cheese on top and pico de gallo. That's it, that's all. At this point I was getting used to being ripped off or over-paying for food in Hawaii so when I paid over 10$ for this and did not find one piece of meat I just thought maybe it's the Hawaii way again...come to find out it's not and the idiots thought I wanted vegetarian; even if that were the case the price should have been less and/or they should have substituted the meat for other vegetables and not a ton of shredded iceberg.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

As always, food was good and the standard prices you'd find at this chain of restaurants. Little out of the way, but it's near other shopping so it's a good place to stop in for a bite if you don't want fine dining.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fast and Fresh...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

A good quick lunch spot... if you time it right. Try to get there before or after the noontime crowd, and when all the ingredients for your items are fresh and ready!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco del Mar also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Taco del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taco del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.