We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't imagine ever wanting to stay anywhere else on the Big Island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nancy's Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nancy's Hideaway
73-1530 Uanani Place, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$120 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I can't imagine ever wanting to stay anywhere else on the Big Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

First of all, Nancy's Hideaway is just that, hidden away in one of the most breathtaking areas of the island all to yourself. The place is IMMACULATELY CLEAN and adorable! The pictures don't do the place justice...it's a knock out! Nancy is such a thoughtful host...I've stayed at 5 star hotels that offered far less. I can't imagine why anyone would ever want to stay anywhere else! We were immediately basking in tranquility and the Hawaiian spirit...this is the perfect place for spiritual reflection, bird watching and gardening enthusiasts. We loved the daily visits from the different island birds, the sound of the tree frogs at night and strolling the gardens and flowers and the view from the hillside of the bluest ocean I've ever seen...AMAZING!
It's just a 15 minute drive down to the tourist city of Kailua and easy access to all the major routes to go adventuring on the island. We liked visiting Holualoa, a nearby artist village, when there eat at the Holuakoa Gardens & Cafe...some of the best food on the island and gorgeous surroundings!
Mahalo Miss Nancy! Hope we return soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
60
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at Nancy's for one week this May, and I'm very happy with my choice which was based on other reviews here. The cottage was lovely and clean, and well stocked. Nancy seems to be someone who really cares about her guests comfort, and is willing help with any questions or little requests you might have. She is very friendly and approachable.

The cottage is set amongst beautiful tropical gardens, and we loved sitting out on the lanai for our breakfast in the morning, a lovely spot away from it all. The town of Kailua-Kona can be a little bit commercial so it was nice not to be too close to that, and feel like you are really up in the mountains of Hawaii. It is, however, only a few minutes drive from the town.

We did find that because of the size of the island, we were driving for a few hours each day to visit major attractions such as Volcano National Park, The National Botanical Gardens and Akaka Falls, but having seen the other towns where we could have stayed, I still think Kona was the right choice. I don't know why anyone would choose to stay in a "cheesy" resort over a place with characte and all the comforts such as Nancy's.

My only suggestion would be that she have the breakfasts a bit more varied and maybe have some healthier options on offer. We had a bagel with cream cheese and jam, some type of cake or pastry and a piece of papaya every day. It was presented beautifully, but by the end of the week I was sick of papaya! I know Hawaii grows really nice pineapple and other tropical fruits, so It would be nice to see some variation, and also have something healthier on offer, like muesli with yogurt and other fruits. It's not all about food, but to the person on vacation it seems to become a fairly important part of your experience!

Overall, you won't go wrong choosing this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, SD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nancy's Hideaway is the "perfect" place to stay while enjoying Hawaii! We found it spotlessly clean, fully stocked with everything we needed and/or desired, very comfortable, delicious breakfasts, a gracious hostess, and a location that was not only beautiful but very quiet, relaxing and conveniently located to the airport but not too close to be disturbed by aircraft or traffic. We only wish we had planned to stay longer and will, without a doubt, stay again when we visit Hawaii.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I think everyone has covered all the wonderful things about this place and its gracious hostess but it is one of my favorite places to stay...ever! The neighborhood is also beautiful and quiet for good uphill power walks. Hardly any traffic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nancy's hideaway is the prefect oasis of quiet and comfort while staying on the Kona coast. The cottage was immaculately kept and Nancy put a wonderful mix of fresh fruit and baked goods in the refrigerator every day for breakfast the next morning. It's located just a few minutes away from downtown Kona is very convenient to the local attractions but just far enough out of town to be peaceful and quiet at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevallo, Alabama
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The best part about staying at Nancy's is coming back again! We stayed there 6 years ago, and when we returned for 4 nights in December it was just as wonderful as remembered. Beautiful location, spotless studio, everything you need for beach hopping (towels, chairs, cooler), and best of all the breakfasts that magically appear in the fridge for the next morning. I kept wanting to tell other b&b owners on another island how Nancy does it better, but was polite and kept it to myself. Nancy is a wonderful hostess who feels more like an old friend who just pops in when you give her a call. Thanks, Nancy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Arrived late Saturday afternoon 12/29/12 and Nancy was there to greet us, got us checked in, gave me directions to the nearest convenience store and gave us total privacy for the rest of our stay saying that she's just a phone call away if we need anything. Everything we need was available in this very very clean cottage. Plenty of breakfast items consisting of papayas and pineapples, bagels, turnovers, cupcakes, coffee, juices, etc. My wife loved the sweet papayas. We've been on the Big Island 5+ times and this has been the most relaxing. Nancy, Thanks for letting us stay. We removed our shoes before entering!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nancy's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nancy's Hideaway

Address: 73-1530 Uanani Place, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nancy's Hideaway - charming Nahele Cottage overlooking the Kona Coast on the Big Island of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nancy's Hideaway Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nancy's Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nancy's Hideaway to your Saves list