We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for water activities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bunbury, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Convenient location for water activities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Sheraton Kona is past the Kona village. When we checked in the asked if we wanted an Ocean Views upgrade for $30 per night, which we took up. After staying at other hotels we found the ocean views weren’t comparable, upon enquiry we were advised Ocean Front was an extra $60 per night, views are only views and may be from a rooms far further back, although ours were of the marina, so just clarify what they are offering before accepting. In saying this, this was the cheapest hotel we had stayed at during our trip and thus was well priced. There is a supermarket about 10 min walking distance via the small harbor and a small shop within the complex. The hotel charges a compulsory $30 per night fee which covers internet to room, ½ hour per day international calls and bus service to the local village and local tourist spots, so is very good value. The Manta Ray Snorkeling and Dolphin discovery tours are from the marina, about 5 minutes walk from the hotel, so the hotel is a very convenient location for activities. It is however further out of town but the shuttle service every two hours form the hotel makes up for this distance. As part of the package and being SPG members we received a 35% discount for dining in the hotel. Don’t forget to take the card as if it is not presented at the time of dining the discount cannot be applied. We had a dinner there and the meals were excellent, a little pricey but excellent value when the discount is applied. The Manta Rays can be viewed easily from the restaurant area of a night. This is a great location for kids as there is an excellent kids pool and the rooms were of good quality. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton T, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your recent review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you took advantage of the many amenities offered here at the hotel and nearby Keauhou Bay ocean activities. We would also like to thank you for being a Starwood Preferred Guest and hope to have you back here with your Sheraton Ohana (family).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    341
    179
    65
    29
See reviews for
236
438
33
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Beautiful well kept resort with an amazing pool. great onsite restaurants. breakfast includes tropical juices and fruits from local farms. everything for outdoor activities. volleyball,basketball, tennis.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in higher floors for great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton T, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review and for choosing to stay with us at Sheraton Kona! We couldn't agree more with you that our hotel truly offers an array of outdoor ocean activities right in Keauhou Bay! We are delighted to hear that your stay was most enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you're looking for an excellent room in a large chain hotel, you will be delighted with the Sheraton at Keauhou Bay. The rooms are spotless, the staff friendly and helpful, and the pool is great. On our last day, they did institute a one pool towel restriction that we found annoying. You will need to go out for food, if you are foodies as we are. The only breakfast option, besides a coffee break station, is the buffet. Dinner at Rays on the Bay was disappointing. However, despite these caveats, we thoroughly enjoyed our eight day stay.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton T, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and for choosing to stay with us at Sheraton Kona! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your eight days with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona. Warmest Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I checked into this hotel last minute while on our honeymoon (after having a bad experience else where) and we were truly glad that we did. The hotel staff was more than accommodating and willing to ensure that we had everything that we needed for our stay on the island. The hotel lobby area was beautiful and the hotel itself appeared to have been recently updated and remodeled. We arrived at our room and were really impressed. Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable and the room was relatively big. The pool area is gigantic and a majority of it overlooks the ocean. The pool is also very kid friendly. The restaurants at the hotel are decent but pricey. I would suggest going to Rays on the Beach at least once to see the manta rays as they come out at night. The gym is nice if you are interested in working out while there. The only negatives about this hotel were that the parking lot is kind of far away from the hotel and there is no beach even though the hotel is located on the water. The location of this resort is better than that of the Marriott or Hilton as they are both a good 45 minutes away from town and out in the middle of no where. Overall this was a great stay and I would certainly come back if we decided to visit Kona again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton T, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Sheraton Kona! We are happy to hear that your experience and stay with us was memorable! We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to your Sheraton Kona Ohana in Hawaii!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, ma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Staying on star points, and must admit my family is quite disappointed. We were here four years ago and the resort was a bit tired then , disappointed that there have been no improvements during that time. The rooms in particular need total renovation. Families take note that there are no queen beds, only two doubles. On the plus side, the public areas and pool are quite nice, and the location is good. Food options are limited and pricey.

Can't say I've been bowled over by spectacular service. This hotel certainly needs work, but that is why it is still quite affordable. Certainly nicer, but pricier options available on the big island.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton T, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at Sheraton Kona! Although we did not meet all your expectations, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and visit to Hawaii Island. Your valuable feedback will be shared with our management team as well.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I decided to stay at the Sheraton Kona Resort on our way back to Honolulu from a few days in Hilo. Our decision was based upon several good experiences with the Sheraton chain. We were not disappointed! The property is nice and well-appointed. Although our stay was short, our experience tells us to book extra days next time.

Our requests were handled with no problem (ocean front - quiet room). The accommodations, and especially the bed, were very comfortable. We enjoyed a full breakfast as part of our rate. The entire staff was excellent from the front desk to the shuttle bus driver to housekeeping.

We enjoyed the shuttle to Kona, and afterwards viewing the Manta Rays that come to feed in the rocky surf at night. The only thing that may be missing is a white sand beach because of the volcanic rocky coastline in this area, but the many other amenities make up for it.

We would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: An ocean front room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton T, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your recent review and for staying with us at Sheraton Kona! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you return for a longer stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for two nights back in 2013. The rooms are excellent and you could easily spend days just lounging at the hotel. At night you can see the giant Manta Rays feeding in the waters outside the restaurant. It's about 5 minutes from the center of town, so while you have easy access to the sights, you're removed from the noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton T, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha and Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sheraton Kona. We couldn't agree more with you on our hotel's location, tranquility and the amazing experience of watching the nightly Manta Rays feed in their natural enviroment!
We hope to be able to welcome you back to your Sheraton Ohana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.