We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful pool and views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay to your Saves list
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beautiful pool and views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Kid and adults loved the slide into the pool. very large pool and never felt like I was crowded. plenty of daily activities at the resort. the lady who taught hula and lei making was wonderful.
not a fan of paying resort fee but overall price was good for the hotel. nothing special about the room but we were not in it much

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton T, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Sheraton Kona! We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the cultural activties offered at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Kona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    472
    239
    91
    49
See reviews for
309
606
49
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed at this hotel over the Kona Marathon weekend. The hotel was full but that did not degrade in anyway from the excellent experience. There was plenty of staff to help out with everything I needed, the pools were in excellent condition and everyone was having fun on the water slide. There is also great access to wonderful snorkeling in Keauhou Bay near the marina as well as around the corner at the Kahalu'u snorkeling beach. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Get an ocean view room and watch the sunset from your room. Or if you get stuck with a mountain view room go downstairs and watch the sunset from the shore under a coconut tree. And if that puts you in the mood, there's a chapel at the hotel you could use to get married...

The hotel is far enough from everything so you don't feel like a tourist. Yet there's a bunch of great activities in the area, craft fairs, beaches, shopping, water activities, golf... There's a bunch of fantastic local restaurants in the area Teshima's (awesome local Japanese style food), L&L Hawaiian BBQ and Sam Choy's. Sorry, I don't really like to eat at hotel restaurants. Can't recommend any. I like to go out and eat what the local people are eating.

The rooms are huge. The pool is great to lounge at. The fitness center is excellent. Overall the hotel is very clean and well maintained. The staff is warm and friendly.

I'll be back...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have not been back to the Sheraton Keauhou Bay Kona for several years, or at least since they changed the previous ownership. We heard there were a new Starwood management team as well as new owners, so we decided to re-visit the hotel this June 2014. It was day and night. The grounds look clean and well kept. There is even a separate activity desk where you can rent canoes, paddle boards, snorkeling/diving equipment. They have a small channel by the hotel that put you right into the water and off you go, very convenience and safe, despite surrounded by lava rocks. We dined at Rays on the Bay and ordered Dragon Eye Roll and Waimea Salad for starters. They now sourced veggies with their local organic farms, and everything is very tasty and sweet. We also ordered Fresh Catch -Monchong Grilled and Mama’s Coffee Spiced Ribeye. The food and drinks were delicious. They totally renovated this dining area, and it is very open with great ambiance and beautiful view. You can sit and watch the huge manta rays popping up their wings at a distance. They also had at least four different Hula dances – children to teenagers to adult. I love each hula costumes/outfits. The colors are bright with tropical flowers. What a treat! I would definitely stay at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Kona again, and maybe inviting our friends to bring their family here to join us. Overall, it was a great re-visit.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the ocean are quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: it is a environmentally-friendly as well as locally sourced vegetables and fruits, grass fed beef.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This place was so nice and clean. The views alone will make me come back. There's a golf course right next to it. It was closed for repairs though. They have a great restaurant in the resort. Staff is way friendly. The hotel is away from all the crowds. It's about a ten drive to kona's little downtown area. If I come back i'm staying here again for sure!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We enjoyed the location but the hotel is tired and needs updating. The pool is nothing special and feels old. There was not enough umbrellas at the pool for those of us who need a shady place to stay. Did I mention it was a great location??? Oh, there is one bright side.....Gary, the concierge was fantastic. He was able to hook us up with the perfect day trips and he really knows the area and the good companies to book with. Thank you Gary!!! Oh yeah, we also enjoyed the morning yoga class with Hooda.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My family stayed in Sheraton Kona 5 nights last week. The hotel is nicely located and beaufully landscaped. Nice coffee shops in downtown is near. Pretty much everything you probably need is near within 5 mintes drive.
Huge swimming pool and my children loved the slide. All staffs werevery friendly and courteous.The room we stayed was a Presidential Suite (don't know accurate name) and it wa s a size of Texas. Many amnities and services were included. Absolutely amazing ocean view from balcony. Mountain view from the lobby was taking my breath away. Looks like renovation was done not too long ago. We really enjoyed our family's first stay in Sheraton Kona.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.