We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Jacob - Server Outdoor Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay to your Saves list
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Merced, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Review of Jacob - Server Outdoor Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

June 1, 2014 -We heard about the Manta Rays appearing in the evening so we decided to try dinner before watching the Rays. We had dinner along the wall in the outdoor dining area and were served by Jacob. He was outstanding and went over and above to make our dining experience fantastic. He was there for everything we needed and brought us a fantastic hors d' oeuvre before our dinner. I asked him about two items on the menu and he figured out which one I would like. We really enjoyed the food and his friendly personality. It was fun to get to know him. Our dinner was great because he was our server.
Thanks Jacob.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    472
    238
    91
    49
See reviews for
308
606
49
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
496 helpful votes 496 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the first Hawaiian resort hotels we have experienced that has no beach. It is located on a lava rock outcropping right on the ocean front, so there are some spectacular views. Our room was a premium ocean front room with a great ocean view on the top floor. Take away the view and what is left is an average Sheraton convention hotel room, similar to 4 Points Sheratons in most other cities, or on par with an average motel room. The 1960's architecture throughout is not up to par with more modern resort hotels. The bathroom was just adequate and not up to luxury hotel standards. The balcony was OK with minimalist furnishings. There was no screen on the balcony door so leaving it open to fresh ocean air was not good because of the bugs. Therefore it was necessary to leave on the air conditioning day and night.
Hallways were dark and gloomy, so we couldn't see where to insert our key day or night, leaving us to grope around for where to open the door.
Staff was friendly, polite and cheerful at every contact. Night views of Mantas from the restaurant were spectacular.

The best deal was our coupons for a complimentary breakfast buffet every day of our stay. The buffet was just average, not wonderful. Birds flew freely in the open air setting and aggressively attempted to share our dishes. While we love birds, we don't want them squatting in our food...
The breakfast restaurant is closed at lunch time so the only place for lunch is the bar poolside. A very limited lunch menu of burgers and tacos, with slow service when they are busy.
The free form pools are OK if you don't mind swimming in a shallow pool that gets no deeper than 4 feet. Apparently they sell admission to the general public and after 9AM pools get crowded with families who are not hotel guests.
My biggest complaint is that they tack on a resort charge of $15 per person per day no matter if you use any "resort" facilities. But wait folks, that's not all, on top of the resort charge they soak you for "resort charge tax". After vehemently complaining about this ripoff charge the manager agreed to credit my account with a 50% reduction in the total resort charges. As an SPG member who frequently stays at Sheraton hotels I resent phony charges on top of already overpriced rooms such as "resort charges" at a Hawaiian hotel that really has no resort facilities . Shame on you Sheraton management.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Suarounding of the resort is nice, it is built on the cliff. Had some message treatment there and the set up is very nice. Room is not to bad, it is large and has balcony. Breakfast is nice. It is quite large so requires a fair bit of walk to the room and it is not clear, so you may get lost the first few times. It is not closed to any attractions, so you will need a car.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We just returned after staying here for 9 nights. The property itself is fantastic. The people are very friendly and accommodating. The pool is great, two sides something for everyone. Didn't try the slide though. Looked like people were enjoying it though. We had an ocean front view which was absolutely fantastic. Watched the sunset on our lanai enjoying beer and Kona chips (umm delicious). We would return.

Green Features: The hotel does offer a program regarding environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Just finishing a 5 night stay...sad to leave this place. The location is just a few minutes south of town which can be accessed by the trolley or by car. Town is close enough to be there when you want to, far away enough to really enjoy the resort. We were upgraded to a fabulous ocean view room when we arrived - such a treat! Property is very clean (saw NO BUGS except for a few ants on the balcony). The staff has been amazing...exceeded our expectations at every turn. Everyone we have encountered has been just great - the valets, housekeepers, front desk, and room service. Speaking of room service, my daughter had the Keiki (kids) "beach burger" dinner and declared it the best burger she had ever eaten, and at a price of $8 we were both pleased.
When you go to the pool, you will need to get wristbands at the towel shack. RIDE THE WATERSLIDE! It's fun for adults too!
The only negative would be the the doors tend to slam and make too much noise at night, but we were able to overlook this easily and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Sheraton Kona was our last stop on our two week vacation in the Hawaiian Islands. It was a great way to end our vacation. The Valet Staff were very friendly and polite. Our Concierge was very helpful, we were late in booking a Volcano Tour and through an extensive effort she, made it happen. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The hotel is truly beautiful with a fantastic view of the ocean. The Fitness Center is well equipped and very clean. This is one beautiful hotel in Kona at Keauhou Bay. Last Trip Advisor entries on our fantastic trip to four magnificent Hawaiian Islands.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kailua-kona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Checked in earlier and we were checked in with a smile and upgraded to a ocean view room! Front desk and valet service was great. The room was nice and clean.
The pool is huge. The pool attendant advised us they were out of towels and forgot to give us wristbands (needed for security). We were later approached by security and told go get the wristbands. Rather rude. The restaurant is nice. Great place to watch the sunset. The food is good but pricey. Service was outstanding. The grounds of the property are well maintained and has a small chapel for weddings. You need a car as the hotel is located away from town. Over all the hotel is a great place to unwind and relax.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.