We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable resort visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay to your Saves list
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyable resort visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Spending February in the islands we made a 5 day trip to the big island staying at this Sheraton resort . It is very nicely situated with wonderful views, beautiful gardens, friendly efficient staff, is fairly priced, we will return should we have the opportunity in the future. Close to shopping and eating choices.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Aloha Garth Stanley W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful Resort and friendly staff! As we strive to achieve excellence in customer service, it is wonderful to receive such positive comments from our valued guests, and we will be sure to share this with our team!

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    472
    239
    91
    49
See reviews for
309
607
49
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I am not a big fan of resorts. I have to say though that this resort was not too much as far as over the top and offered a lot for a very reasonable price and a great location. The Manta Ray viewing every night was a great spectacle. The pool is kept at a perfect temperature and the cabana price was perfect if you have any desire to just camp out and whale watch from the pool deck all day. We spent our last day at the cabana pool side after spending six days seeing and doing about the island. We inquired as to outings offered by the concierge and they were honest and probably had some good deals but we did venture off and find great Kayak rentals on our own. I highly recommend getting out to Na'poo'pno Rd getting out in a Kayak and snorkeling at Captain Cooks landing. After lunch we found a school of Dolphins playfully swimming along the cliff side on our return back in- we jumped in and they swam all about us, it was great. I also recommend doing a helo tour of the island. Anyway, the restaurant and snack shops have a good variety and this resort seems to hit the highlights without bankrupting the guest. I highly recommend the ocean view room. Stunning. The spa is fantastic, we did two sport massages and it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Go for the full ocean view. We saw a room with a partial view and a double bed and it was so inferio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Aloha MyAbundance,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location and unique Manta Ray views! We are very proud of our Resort and Island, and are delighted that you were able to take advantage of so many of our amenities!

Thank you again for your review! We sincerely appreciate your positive comments, and will be sure to share this with our team! We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This would have been a very nice hotel, twenty years ago. Everything is worn down in the rooms, and for the most part across the rest of the hotel. Bathrooms in the room are pretty disgusting. Some of the staff was helpful, but most provided horrible to sub-par service. Food was expensive, which it always is at a resort, but was nothing at all special and in some cases was pretty bad. No beach access, which is not necessarily a bad thing, just something that most would like to know.
I don't usually write reviews ,but my family and I have stayed at many hotels across Hawaii and I feel obliged to say that this one is not worth your time or money. If you are going to spend your money to get to Hawaii, there are so many hotels across all the islands that are more deserving of your money, don't chose this one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Aloha Eric0987,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so disappointed to hear of your challenges, and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. Please know that we have initiated a preventative maintenance program recently which was not in place previously. This process is a complete strategic engineering and housekeeping overhaul of every room to ensure our final product is in perfect condition. We have also just finished our strategic plan for our capital re-investment into the hotel which will target high impact portions of the resort to bring more life and TLC to the resort. We plan to start on all major projects by months end.

We are also training with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels and Resorts courses and programs such as WELCOME, the ABC’s of Housekeeping, StarGuest Global Personalization, Guest Expectation, and FAREWELL.

Thank you again for your review. We appreciate your comments, and the opportunity to improve on our guest's experiences. Mahalo nui loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights near the end of January. While the hotel and grounds are beautiful and this is likely one of the most beautiful hotels on the island, our experience there could have been a whole lot better. First of all, our travel agent told us that the transfer from the airport to the hotel was included; however, when we arrived at the airport, we learned that this was not the case and we ended up having to spend about $100.00 to get to the hotel and back to the airport. We questioned the desk clerk about that, to no avail. When we returned home and spoke to our travel agent, she was very surprised that the transfer she had arranged had not been honoured. Then, even though we arrived for our stay a little early, we were assigned a partial ocean view room that had a very poor view ... looked out onto a tennis court and we could barely see the ocean in the distance. After a trip back to the lobby with our luggage, my husband was able to negotiate a room change and our next room did have a slightly better view of the ocean, but nothing compared to the partial ocean views we had at the other three island hotels we visited on Oahu, Maui and Kauai. Since the hotel was sold out, we were unable to upgrade to an ocean view room ... quite a disappointment. Our room was clean and our dinner at Rays very tasty, although we were not able to see the rays due to the weather. The other night we took the hotel shuttle into Kona and enjoyed our time there; however, the hotel is some distance from Kona and other places of interest and so we spent quite a lot of time on the shuttle. The very best part of our stay was having the pleasure of meeting a delightful Hawaiian employee in the lobby who served us some treats and treated us with grace. She is a marvellous ambassador for her island! All in all, our experience at this hotel could have been a lot better.

Room Tip: * Choose an ocean view room if you want to have a good look at the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Aloha MGG123,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at Rays on the Bay, and our wonderful Ho'okipa Ambassador!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, and have shared this with our management team. We are disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations, and are reviewing our procedures currently in place to ensure that this does not happen again.

Thank you again for your review. We appreciate your comments, and the opportunity to improve on our guest services. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

6:45 this evening and not a single place in the hotel where two people could sit down and have a drink. Rays, the restaurant, has only as small number of seats for cocktails, reserving everything else for dinner. There were several other areas around the hotel that looked fine for drinks but all were closed.

Maybe there are liquor regulations limiting where drinks can be served. Otherwise, this looks like a vast under-utilization of high-end real estate resources.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Aloha JacksonCage,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we are in the process of reviewing our hours of operation and procedures currently in place at our Food & Beverage outlets on property, and thank you for your valuable comments in this area.

Thank you again for your review, and the opportunity to enhance our guest's experiences. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Loved our stay. Found all staff to be friendly and helpful through out our visit, everyone was willing to go above and beyond. Sarah at the Pool was exceptional and made us feel very welcome, glad we ran into her on our first day. The snorkel tour with the Rays was a great time as well. Loved the location, service and view, we would come back.

Room Tip: lots of ocean view rooms on this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Aloha MochaCabana,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and unique Manta Ray experience! As we strive to achieve excellence in customer service, it is wonderful to receive such positive comments from our valued guests!

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We would return again but this time knowing what to expect. Several positives and some constructive thoughts for this review.:stayed twice- one night and then two nights.
1. Front desk staff were terrific on both of our check ins.
- on first check in [11:15pm]after a long flight from the mainland the gentleman on the desk was excellent and even found some extra food for us to take to the room. Sorry i have forgotten the name.
- second check in - Vicky was excellent and was able to facilitate a room change as the assigned room was with two double beds rather then a king. some hesitation because of 100% occupancy but she made it happen - Mahalo!!

2. Views are terrific --- especially if you are from the inland section of the mainland. Makes the eyes come alive.

3. Rooms were also terrific with both stays involving a suite upgrade -- much appreciated.

4. Only concern was the restaurant "Rays on the Bay", and one that I have already told the operations manager when he asked before our check out. We were looking for a nice dinner with the Rays and booked a reservation for 6:30pm. We did so first by phone message and confirmed again with the concierge. Showed up on time and were asked to wait - as were 3-4 other parties of 2-4. When they came to seat us 10 minutes later the hostess told us she had just seated the last restaurant table and would be ok with the higher table and two bar stools. Upon my questioning why we would make a reservation and not have a table guaranteed she asked if we would prefer a large booth [ could accom0date 6-8]. We took it.
The food was good but the fishermans catch of the day potatos and vegetables were somewhere towards the cold side. My Seafood bowl was worth having and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: ask for the 4th floor and possibly in sections 1 and/or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Aloha flamesfan24,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful views and helpful staff!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we are in the process of reviewing our current procedures for our Food & Beverages outlets on property, as we search for ways to enhance our guest's experiences. We appreciate your comments, and the opportunity to improve on our guest services.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.