We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views if you get the Ocean view rooms.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay to your Saves list
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great views if you get the Ocean view rooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Kind of old. Mandatory resort fee of $30 in addition to the room charge. The resort fee includes parking and in-room wifi. The garden view rooms were dated and small. The bath tub had stains. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Aloha mnoordeen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful!

We sincerely appreciate your comments, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we are reviewing our policies and procedures currently in place, as well as ways in which we can enhance our beautiful Resort.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    382
    193
    75
    34
See reviews for
251
492
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

If you are looking for a nice place with a decent service, forget this hotel. From a service standpoint, this hotel doesn't meet the minimal standards.
It doesn't matter where, restaurant, swimming pool, room, the service is just miserable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Aloha JMT458,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay, and have shared your comments with our management team. Please know that as part of our commitment to providing excellent customer service, we are in the process of completely retraining all our staff with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels and Resorts procedures and courses. Again, we apologize that your expectations were not met during your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Island, Washington
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

What an amazing view of the ocean, the sunset and the beach!! Loved it! The hotel itself is very worn out and could use some updating. The walls are thin (in other words, you can hear everything going on outside your room!). We had good service and very much enjoyed the pool and the water slide. The hotel is right near one of the best snorkeling beaches in Kona. So worth it for the snorkeling experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Aloha Willbeck,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful service and location!

We sincerely appreciate your comments, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that our Director of Engineering is currently reviewing our maintenance needs, as we strive to enhance the beauty of our Resort, and improve our guest experiences.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Very welcoming staff, they were very helpful when we requested a room change. A lovely resort, clean and modern. Room was spacious and comfortable with good views. Bar and restaurant were good too, lively and excellent service. Watching the Manta Rays with a cocktail in hand is a great way to spend an evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Aloha 74pj,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our helpful staff and beautiful Resort!

We are very proud of our Resort, and love to share its beauty and unique Manta Ray viewing experience with our guests. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Room 1425 is the best view right over the light to view manta rays -- and "enjoy" the music from Rays on the Bay. Fortunately, the music was enjoyable and didn't go too late at night. The hotel itself was certainly older, but the room were clean and beds comfortable. However, the amenities in the upgraded suite were very disappointed -- no refrigerator, microwave, utensils or other than plastic cups. Room service did bring up a cork screw and wine glasses. Our child loved the pool and wanted to spend most of time there Staff friendly and their cultural tour of artifacts on the site contributed to the overall very good experience.

Room Tip: Room 1425 is worth the additional cost for the view of ocean and mountains and HUGE outdoor patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Aloha Ruthsadventures,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and unique Manta Ray viewing!

We appreciate your comments from your recent stay. We have recently added some key players to our management team, and are in the process of reviewing many of the procedures in place, as well as our current Resort needs, in an effort to improve on our guest services and amenities.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concord,nc,usa
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

OK, its an older hotel. The staff more than makes up for the age. From check in to check out, staff was 5 star. pool was very nice, water slide was fun, and the rays, wow, so cool. Breakfast was quite good. as a SPG Platinum member we were upgraded to a superb view.Resort fees, yes pesky, but still all in all a great visit. We also did the luau, which enabled us to not have to drive afterwards. Great show, ok food. Open bar most of the night. Pay the extra $15 for a front row seat, well worth it!

Room Tip: Ocean Front!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Aloha CarolinaTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful staff and unique Manta Ray experience!

We appreciate your comments, and have shared this with our management team for review. We do have two new chefs who are committed to creating innovative menus which take advantage of our local farm and sea communities, and hope to have the new selections available in all our food & beverage outlets soon.

We also have a new Director of Engineering, who is reviewing our Resort maintenance needs. We have a wonderful location, and want to enhance its beauty and improve our guest experiences.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smithfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Once you get pass the lobby it's all down hill. The rooms are old and not very clean. Unless you valet park you will spend a lot of time walking to your vehicle. I would never recommend this place. I glad I only booked one night. I can't wait to get out of here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Aloha peter t,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Please know that our new Director of Engineering, and the rest of our management team, is reviewing our maintenance needs to determine how we can enhance our beautiful Resort, and improve on all our guest services.

Thank you again for your review. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Business Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.