We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton Kona - nice place, but wished for a better location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay to your Saves list
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Sheraton Kona - nice place, but wished for a better location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We just got back from our week-long stay here. We decided to stay in Kona instead of on the Kohala Coast. It was a bit cheaper and there were more restaurants nearby. The Sheraton itself is nice. You can tell that it is a bit older in places but it is still very pretty. You can tell the Sheraton works very hard to keep up on it's grounds. They were beautiful. Trees, pretty views, open spaces, nice bright colors. I will say this is the nicest Sheraton out of the one in Poipu, Kauai or Kaanapali, Maui. The staff was friendly. The "downer" on this hotel is the lack of beach nearby. There is Kahuluu (or turtle beach) nearby but the "beach" part isn't the best for laying out. It's a nice place to snorkel though. If you want to get to the beach -- it's about an hour drive north. This was a bummer to us because we went to the beaches every day! This was our second trip to the Big Island and we are unsure if we would return. If we did, I would spend the extra money and stay up toward the Kohala Coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Aloha Jen E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful Resort and friendly staff!

We appreciate your feedback and have shared this with our management team. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us, and hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful Resort.

Thank you again for your review! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    473
    239
    91
    49
See reviews for
309
608
49
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We loved our 2 nights spent at the Sheraton Kona. The room was very clean, comfortable, and spacious, and wifi was included in the room rate, though there is a $30 per day resort charge. The breakfast was included in our room rate (though not sure if this is always the case) and was a great buffet with an excellent variety of cold foods, hot foods, fruits, soups etc. The hours were also very generous with breakfast ranging from 6-10 am.

The pool has a large waterslide which we did not use, and is actually quite large. There is no beach at the hotel.

The ocean view was a bit disappointing. There was an ocean view, but it basically required binoculars to enjoy.

Overall we were happy with the stay and if we return to Kona we will definitely stay at the Sheraton again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha honeybee313,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and wonderful breakfast buffet!

We sincerely apologize for the challenge that you experienced during your stay and have shared this with our management team. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us, so that we may improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had an amazing view over the pool and palm trees looking at the ocean. Sunset was directly in front of our room and stunning! Each morning we were able to sit on our lanai and enjoy our coffee (the little coffee shop had amazing lattes with white chocolate macadamia nut flavor!!). The staff is exceptionally friendly and check-in was quick. The lobby is beautiful with open windows looking out on the ocean. Valets are quick and courteous. The pools are large and we never had any problem finding chairs, although to be fair, it was September not high season.

Rooms are nothing fancy, but very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are a bit dated, but they are clean and we were hardly there anyway! Again, the views are to die for on the oceanfront rooms!

Rays on the Bay had decent food, although it is expensive because you are paying for the ambiance and views. It is worth the price to relax and look out over the ocean and see the manta rays!! We went on a Sunday night when there were no tour boats out for their dives and the Mantas showed up around dusk...very cool!

I liked that the hotel is outside of Kailua-Kona. It is nice and quiet, which allows you to enjoy the tropical setting. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha Deanna9,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are very proud of our Resort, and love to share this with our guests!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our second accommodation on the Big Island (first time to the Hawaiian Islands) as we had use accommodations in Hilo as a base for Volcano National Park, Mauna Kea observatory which turned out to be a great ideas as the travel time for these sights is 2 to 3 hours from the area where the Sheraton is located. Sheraton should open a hotel on the Hilo side; they could use a good quality hotel in Hilo (just a suggestion). Tip if your doing Volcano National Park and Mauna Kea stay on the Hilo side NOT the Kona side or you will spend a majority of your time traveling to and from these places.
Anyway, arrived early evening and were greeted by the valet/porters who were happy to help us unpack the car and moved the car to the self parking area while we checked in. The front desk staff was also very courteous and friendly, lei greeting. The staff called our room Ocean Front but I believe they had misspoken as we got Ocean View or more correctly Bay View in my estimation. Later we learned that it overlooked the historic cultural site which was nice to reflect down upon as we enjoyed the lani. The front desk staff had given us a map of the complex and pointed out the restaurant location as well as mentioned the daily activities list and all the services included in the resort fee ($31.25 a day highest fee we encounter on all our travels throughout Hawaii). Our room was on the lobby level in the yellow section. There are several sections to the hotel.
We remarked on the spaciousness of the room. It was larger than a standard hotel room or even other Sheratons I have been to. There was a good 6 to 8 ft between the end of the bed and the credenza where the TV is. Usually it is about 3 ft wide. There was a nice size closet and we requested an extra luggage stand which arrived within 15 minutes of our request from Housekeeping. The whole hotel at least the section in the Yellow red and blue areas is all open air. The hallway outside our room opened onto the main courtyard that overlooked part of the pool. There vending and Ice were located within their own room curbing the noise factor that usually comes with those amenities. They also have a coin operated washer and dryer for guest use. Part of the hotel is an older building I would say built in the 1960s from the modernist architecture and as some have pointed out in other reviews could use some TLC, but overall it given the exposure to the elements and guest use it is maintained very well. Housekeeping staff were very accommodating with requests, and we did participate in the Green program.
Wi Fi – it is included in the resort fee but is very spotty and unreliable. I had to stand next to the router located behind the credenza to get a signal. Finally, I gave up and went down to the business center Link by Sheraton. I found the Wi-Fi signal to be not much better there. Staff thought it might be the iPad connection but I had the same with my iPhone. I even re-booted/restarted the iPad several times, no luck. I just went back to using the data plan of my service provider. During the remainder of our travels throughout the Hawaiian Island this hotel was the ONLY one with bad Wi-Fi service. I really think Sheraton should do something to make the Wi-Fi service signal strong and reliable anywhere on the property be it by the pool, in your room or in the lobby.
We were impressed by the open air lobby area which was tastefully decorated. The music playing was coming from a wedding reception held on the grounds by the wedding chapel. Our room overlooked this area and we hoped that the reception would not go long into the night as we were exhausted from our days adventure and the drive from the other side of the island. They don’t call this the Big Island for nothing!!
The wedding reception music, while loud wasn’t offensive and happily ended by 10 pm. (next day at yoga everyone commented on the loud music from the reception) They really did not need to have it as loud as it was, but that is an issue for catering to address. Later in your stay we noticed our room was above Rays on the Bay restaurant and we never noticed any excessive noise coming from that area (live Bands nightly) as we enjoyed the room lani. The viewing area for the Manta Rays could use more lights. The point should have a light off of it to allow for more viewing spots as everyone congregates around the one section of the patio that overlooks the illuminated area. If you wait until the boats with the ‘Swim with the Manta Ray’ tours leave the chance of seeing the Ray increases.
I did notice the daily activities list was posted on the board by reception as well as several other places around the resort with a big list showing each individual day on the wall outside The Flying Fish. The Flying Fish is basically the resorts activities hub. All activities originate from there unless otherwise indicated. We participated in the Yoga, Journey around Hawaii Island Orientation presented by a very enthusiastic young man (sorry I forgot his name) as well as the Historic walking tour given by another very knowledgeable staff member(again apologize for not recalling his name). Both these talks I recommend esp. the Cultural preservation efforts going on at the resort property. Yoga could have been given at an earlier time as I found 8:30 am a little late, but the instructor was great and the location perfect. I wish we had had time to take the sailing canoe or done the Lei making Ukulele lesson. As we were departing we did see the Hula practice for the Luau and it was beautiful, the hotel was getting ready to host some completion/convention relating to Hula. We did not attend the Luau at this hotel due to time constraints.
We ate at Rays on the Bay once. It was pricy but it was late and we didn’t want to do the drive into town. Plus we were observing the Manta Rays after the Manta Talk, which was also very beneficial for information on Manta Rays. Minor Celebrity citing of Leland from ‘Dog the Bounty Hunter’ come in for dinner while we waited for our table.
The pool was very nice and relaxing. Not too crowded maybe because it was early September. The slide was great fun, not just for kids. The pool has two sections to it. One section is by the lobby which is quiet and another at the back side which overlooks the ocean and contains the slide. The Towel Hut and the Bar are in the center area.
Our rate included daily breakfast at Ainakai Restaurant. This restaurant is open air and the birds fly in an out. By open air I don’t mean a Patio, but that the room has no windows. It is totally open to the elements.
We sort of soured off the buffet after seeing the birds perched on the buffet and the food, esp. the baked goods. Yep, they were snacking from the buffet. If you leave your table to go get something, expect the birds to come eat off your plate so leave someone at the table to keep them away. We kept to the hot buffet items which were under cover and the omelet station which had the cook to make the items fresh. That is the only thing that really disturbed us about our stay here.
This resort is located a distance from Kailua-Kona which I think bodes well in its favor. We found Kailua-Kona to be very crowded and touristy. I do recommend a visit to the local historic and cultural sites of Place of Refuge, esp. at sunset and the Hulihe’e Palace.
I would recommend this resort to others and would stay here again if on the Big Island. We found it to be accommodating, with friendly courteous staff and overall good facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha NewburghNY,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our great location and friendly and helpful staff!

We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your stay and have shared this with our management team. We appreciate your sharing your feedback with us so that we may improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

the room was musky with a mold smell coming from the a/c air vent. The room was not renovated but fairly clean. The concierge said they "upgraded our room to an ocean view" We were excited until we got to the room. the view was decent from the ground floor but we were disappointed with the room itself. we expected more out of the sheraton and unfortunately will not go back.

Room Tip: do not pick room on ground floor. may have mold or mildew
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Aloha Emily8484,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your recent stay and have shared this with our management team. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us so that we may improve our guest services.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back. Thank you again for your review. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We are Gold with SPG, and used points for our 5 night stay. We were given a nice sized room with a pool And Ocean View...very nice room ( though the robes need to be plush cotton)

The service, however was lacking. The front desk staff needs to be retrained. At check - in they told us what they were giving us but it'll failed to be in our room key packet. we had to go back to the front desk three time to get the Internet access that was included. (First, the told us we needed no pass code, then the gave us the wrong pass code, finally the gave us the correct code.) at check out, there was a big group checking to, most who were not SPG gold, yet they lumped us all together in one line.

The building is a little tired. The pool bar needs some tiles, not the awful blue paint. The tables at the pool bar are depressing as one side faces a slim section fool and the other side is a biggest stucco wall. It needs lush planters in front of it. Our room was spacious and nice. The AC in our room worked well. Our deck offered nice views but it would be better to have railings, not the walls.

The great things were, the location, Rays on the Bay (which I will review separately), and the pool...we sat in lounges at the south end to face the ocean. With the latter, we saw school of dolphins, many boats, birds etc, yet had the umbrella shade and pool service, with this great view.

The best part is the location. Easy to drive to Kona, without having to stay there. Best, location for driving to Volcano Natl. Park. Then a day later, driving north to go to beaches at Mona Kea Resort, Hapuna and having dinner at the Kamuela Provision at Waikaloa. Then kayaking and snorkeling at the beaches to the south, the day after that. The location cannot be beat.

I would love to stay at the Four Seasons which is a gorgeous property, but for the money saved by staying at this Sheraton each night, we could eat dinner several nights at the Four Seasons,
and still we had a better location, too. Sheraton is not the same caliber of hotel, BUT this Sheraton needs to up its game on service, particularly at the front desk, the robes in the room.S, and redoing sone of the public space design, None would cost a lot and would go along way improving their image and comfort.

Room Tip: Third floor and above has views over palm trees, and rooms in the red building seems to have the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Aloha Leapsandbounds,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location and Rays on the Bay restaurant!

We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your recent stay and have shared this with our management team. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us so that we may improve our guest services.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort. Thank you again for your review. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosville, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you have never been to Hawaii or have never stayed at a Sheraton then you will never know the difference. But this was my least favorite Sheraton. We are frequent with Starwood properties. The lush grounds/landscape are the nicest part of the hotel. The rooms were average. To be honest I am not sure what part of the hotel received the renovation? The rooms nor the outside of the hotel looked current. The housekeeping was poor, the pool service was poor. The front desk had good service. My boys loved the water slide. We did have an awesome dinner at Rays on the Bay. Server and food was really good. Not to stress anyone out that is awaiting their vacation to start but I am sorry to say that this was my least favorite one. We were thankful our stay was only 2 nights. We spent the rest of our time at a Quintess property over in Waikoloa. It was amazing.

Room Tip: We were in the same building as the spa on the ground level. It was great with kids and easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Aloha sksanche,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and exciting water slide!

We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your recent stay and have shared this with our management team. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us so that we may improve our guest services.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back. Thank you again for your review. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.