We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay to your Saves list
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful week in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Sheraton Kona. Arriving on Labor Day, right after the crowds had departed, it felt as if we had the whole resort to ourselves. We had booked an ocean-view room using Starwood points, and the front desk upgraded us to a beautiful oceanfront room on check-in. The room had a beautiful view of the ocean. Every staff member we interacted with we was extremely friendly. On the first day, our order at the poolside restaurant took a little longer than usual, and they comped us for both entrees even though we didn't complain. What great customer service! The quality of the food at the hotel restaurants was also consistently good. We did room service a few mornings (the omelettes are excellent), and we had a late dinner twice at Rays on the Bay, which was quite good but a little pricey. You can't beat the views of the manta rays, though! All in all, it was a lovely stay, and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha johnsmurf,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed wonderful Resort and friendly staff!

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    472
    239
    91
    49
See reviews for
309
606
49
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights Sep 2013. Arrived late at night and there was no where to get a bite to eat or a glass of wine? What's up with that. It is an expensive place with nothing close by. Nice property but a long way away from anything. Pools are great and food was very good. We sat at Ray's and had a great evening. The Manta Rays were the highlight. Probably would not stay there mainly because I like more options for meals and to drive and have a glass of wine is not an option so had to stay on property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha aglama,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and Rays on the Bay restaurant!

We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your stay and have shared this with our management team. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us so that we may improve our guest services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Thank you again for your review. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just came back from a 5 night stay at this hotel. Couple things to note - I used SPG points to stay there, used my suite night upgrades for an upgrade, I am lifetime gold / 75 night platinum in the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) system.

In short, I'd happily stay here again if using points, but if I had to pay for it I might check other options.

my comments:
- location is pretty central, but being 20 minutes away from restaurants did mean we ate dinner on site more than we would have liked. it's a quiet location.
- agreed with other reviewers on inconsistency of staff, some were amazing, some were...unhelpful
- the hotel seems to offer many extras, like the shuttle, etc, but they are not well communicated. Think I learned more reading these reviews than I did while there!
- SPG status came with free continental breakfast, worth $10 to upgrade to full buffet, but no way is that buffet worth the full price of $25
- there is no beach. you can see this in the pictures. just keep it in mind!
- had a great, tho pricey, lomi lomi massage outside at the spa. coconut oil scalp massage was a great add-on (tho you may have to shampoo your hair several times to get the oil out)
- Platinum comments: did get the suite night upgrades, tho not to the best suite, and the front desk was kind enough to let us check out late since we were taking a redeye

Room Tip: the red side seems to be the uninterrupted ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha kailim,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spa services and friendly staff.

We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your stay and have shared this with our management team. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us so that we may improve our guest services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Thank you again for your review. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. The good part is its convenient location and has restaurant from where you can view the manta rays.
However the hotel is very poorly managed. When we checked in I requested to room upgrade as it was our honeymoon the front desk lady rudely denied it and then started lecturing me that it takes gold or platinum membership to do that. This is just not a good way to treat your customer. I was given room keys without any direction. This resort is quite spread out and there are barely any signs or staff anywhere. We got lost as we couldn't find the elevator. We called the front desk requesting us to kindly direct us to the room and elevator. The lady was rude and said there are sign posted which I challenged her that there are none.
Overall I do not recommend this place due to poor management.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha Riz_Outdoors,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Rays on the Bay Restaurant and convenient Resort location!

We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your recent stay and have shared this with our management team. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us so that we may improve our guest services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Thank you again for your review. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is located on the old fishing village at Keauhou Bay. It is very quiet setting. Hotel offers the Manta Ray from Rays on the Bay restaurant in the evening. It was amazing experience! Hotel also offers free Cultural tour around the hotel including the old fishing village. I took the tour and I saw a group of Dolphins nearby the hotel. I was so excited! Hotel has a very nice and big pool and a water slide facing the ocean. This pool is very fun for everyone. All restaurants are facing the ocean too.

Room Tip: Ocean view or Ocean front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha mamacat28,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are very proud of our Resort, and love to share this wonderful experience with our guests. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I really love this hotel. If you want to rest, forget about everything, this is your best choice. The pool just great, I got an ocean view room, great.you don't have to leave the hotel, got everything in there, next to the hotel is a place to get tours to do snorkel, and plenty stuffs. Probably the only "bad" thing is that is not close at all from town, but neither the other good hotels are, so, this is a great choice. I will come back for sure.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha Joshua H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Resort and nearby amenities! We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort soon! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you are welcomed to the hotel you know your going to have a great stay here.
The staff are fab whichever area of the hotel you are in. Poolside service staff are great they remember your name and your order. The room was beautiful and beautiful, cleaned everyday and in perfect condition. The view from the room was beautiful it was a garden view but you could also see the ocean. Great size balcony to sit and have a cocktail on.
The rays on the bay restaurant never failed to impress. Great food, great location and great service.
They put on a free bus to the Kona area, our only complaint is that it could be run later into the evening, 9pm is too early.
Other than that excellent stay. We stayed here mid vacation before going onward to Honolulu

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.