We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Amenities, Average Customer Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay to your Saves list
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Location and Amenities, Average Customer Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I visited the Big Island of Hawaii for my second time in almost 10 years to attend the annual Queen Lili outriggger race. I decided to stay at this property because the location seemed ideal, I got a great rate, and it had all the amenities I was looking for in a hotel - full service, awesome views, spa, etc. On a quick note, I stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa during my first visit as I was a former Hilton employee and my origianl expectations staying at the Sheraton was slightly above average, so as not to be disappointed.

Upon my arrival at the Sheraton, I was greeted pleasantly by the Valet. The entrance was very nice and passing through the entry way, the hotel has a BEAUTIFUL view of the ocean! I was in awe and very excited that I chose the right place to stay. Then came check-in...I was greeted politely and checked-in. I asked a few questions about the area and the hotel - answers were short and straight to the point. Ok, limited conversation, no prob...from that point on, I had limited conversation with the front desk. The service was OK for the rest of my stay. I checked out the restaurants and the menus for both looked about average and prices were what I expected at any hotel.

I will be returning to this hotel next month (Jan 2013) because it offer really good rates, was it my first choice,not necessarily, but I thought I'd give it another try. Again service was average and I'm a pretty easy going, experienced traveler who also works in the hotel industry (sales/catering), so I won't fault the service too badly...HOWEVER....a few words of advise to the Powers that Be at this property and those who read these reviews - chatty agents amongst themselves when there are guests in line waiting to be helped should be limited...friendly smiles with sincere "welcomes" in the Aloha State would be nice, and more staff in the morning in the cafe on the ground floor when occupancy is higher.

Mahalo and A Hui Hou!

Room Tip: I had a nice room facing Mauka side ... But if you must, get the ocean view if its your first time t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Mahalo for sharing your impressions of your recent visit with us. While we are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful location and many amenities; it is disappointing that we were not able to fully impress you. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions and we are looking forward to welcoming you back later this month. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    382
    193
    75
    34
See reviews for
251
492
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here last Christmas for two weeks and this time three and a bit weeks, most of December till Jan 1, 2013 Originally were booked at the Outrigger hotel by the park but it closed and was shuffled here by Westjet, no complaints from me on that shift. Have partial ocean view on forth floor so get to look over the trees, nice (-:
Wife hates the north view(no sun), I love the shade so I am happy, and I am paying (-:
Room is clean and washroom is mold free, much better than last year.
Have only tried a few meals at the hotel since we know where the good food is in town, Trolley drivers are a great asset for info, the larger the driver the better the info. What meals we have eaten here are better than last year. Liked the breakfast buffet, always like the design your own omlete, if they added Papaya and Avacodos to the fruit area it would be hard to drag the wife away from it. The lunch at the pool is a bit lighter than town but not a bad deal for lazy days. Supper has mixed reviews but I have no complaints.
Wireless internet, before Christmas, not bad, as number of people increased it slowed down significantly.
TV, never turned it on, didn't come here to watch it.
This year no connecting door, much much quieter. But last year it was only one night that there was noise.
Down side.
- Far from town but the Trolley with the later hours this year is a great improvement.
- Most tour bus turn the engines off in the morning when picking up the customers, a few drivers don't. Birds sound better than a bus and do to time zones I wake up early. The delivery trucks are very consistant in turning off the engines excellent (-:
- Balconies, so far has not been cleaned once, rooms thou are fine.

Overall, yes I would stay here again and might next Christmas, thou we are thinking multiple islands next year, beats -30C.

Wild life - lizards, mongooses, lots of birds, one owl, several bats.

Staff, very polite and friendly.

BT

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better do to the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Aloha! We love to receive feedback from our guests and learn all about their experiences at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. Your review was a delight to read and we were thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed your extended stay with us. Since it is our hope to accommodate the needs of all of our guests, we regret that your balcony was not properly attended to and hope that next time you will let us know while you are here if there is anything we can do to make your stay even better. Ahuihou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our family of 5 spent 4 nights at the Sheraton Kona. The hotel and service was OK but coming from another exceptional hotel on Maui we were a little disappointed with the location and service. Location wise the hotel is south of the airport, on the western side of the island. Our reason for visiting the island was to visit the volcano. The volcano is on the eastern side of the island. Our trip to the volcano took 12 hours. We then wanted to visit the lava stream but helicopter flights were either from north of the airport or from the eastern side. We didn't have a hire car so this was difficult. All in all we felt a bit isolated.
Food and staff in the restaurant was excellent. Unfortunately we found that the tour desk were more interested in 'selling' us a tour rather than fulfulling our needs.
The rooms were neat and comfortable although the bathroom was a little cramped.
My daughter and I visited the spa which was wonderful although not all treatments were availabe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of your recent visit. The Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay is located in the heart of historic Keauhou and just under two hours from Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park. We sincerely regret that our location was not ideal for your plans on the Big Island but we greatly appreciate your compliments for our restaurant staff, cuisine and the Ho'ola Spa. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you are going to Hawaii, you should know there are cockroaches...lots of cockroaches. We found a few in the hotel, usually hiding under towels. My wife was 3 months preganant and we were making a video diary of the trip and moved a towel on the deck and there was a huge one that suprised us, then there was a friendly one on the counter in the bathroom later. The grounds are amazing, so beautiful. We went for walks on the grounds and took lots of photos of our then 2 year old daughter. The pool was cold and there wasn't a beach, but it is a beautiful stunning hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Aloha. We are glad that you enjoyed the beauty of our 22-acre oceanfront resort while staying with us on your trip to the Big Island. Despite our best efforts there are times in which pests may appear due to our tropical environment. If at any time a guest reports such an instance, we respond appropriately to minimize any additional sightings. Thank you for your review and your understanding. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Easy drive from Kona airport, nice setting on the sea, big rooms, friendly and good housekeeping services. Great gym with stunning views. The laundry machines are a nice feature.

There's a ridiculous resort fee that is charged to include things like wifi and 'free self-parking', which just doesn't seem necessary. There's also a charge for towels if you return them late, which we didn't, but we got charged anyway and then it was caught and removed by the very friendly and helpful reception staff. Clearly not the first time it's happened.

The major drawback was the catering side...the restaurant can't accommodate a busy period, and room service is woefully understaffed. In the large restaurant there is lots of dead space where there could be more tables...but guests have to compete for the few open bar stool tables near the bar if they haven't booked one of the very few available spots. On top, these bar tables will only serve a limited menu of burgers, pizza, etc, even though they're 10 feet from the limited main menu tables. We struggled to get attention from staff...told by one 'I'm not your server' (rather than hello and welcome) and another 'You can't have anything from that menu (the one we were holding after getting it from the bar), but I don't know why', that sort of thing. They were clearly rushed during the holiday period.

Room service wasn't any better. We were told there was just one person working to deliver all the meals so it takes time...one person? Our food arrived cold and really wanting. Fortunately we did get one main comped that was a wreck. On this front, the Sheraton could really do better to make dining less of a competition and hassle.

There's a supermarket up the road which turned out to be a very useful resource.

There is a large pool area, but the design is totally in favor of families. One one end is a children's pool, on the other is a large slide, and in the middle is a connection to another internal pool with a slide. With the curved design throughout there's not really space for swimming for exercise...you'd run into a tree, rock, or person pretty fast. The entire area was busy and fairly noisy morning to sunset.

Overall, this is a great place to stay if you want to be on the sunnier side of the island while doing a visit to Volcanoes (around 2 hours away). Be aware it's super family oriented.

Room Tip: Ask on arrival about availability for ocean front...we upgraded and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
It’s disappointing that although you have expressed an appreciation for our location, rooms, gym and housekeeping services there were still several areas with which you were less excited about. The resort fee you mentioned provides for our guests a generous array of amenities and services such as Zumba, yoga and aqua yoga classes; complimentary guided cultural and historical tours; and unlimited complimentary use of Keauhou to Kona Trolley. We are truly sorry that you found dining in the hotel to be a bit of a challenge and we apologize if any member of the wait staff was not helpful to you; we will share your feedback with our restaurant management team. The next time you are visiting the island, we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location was excellent- a quiet secluded bay where you can watch manta rays at night. Food was expensive and not that great- go to the near by mall for Foodland and stock up on items. If you really want to save money on food there is a local place at the mall called L and L. you can get breakfast items or pretty much anything for super super cheap! lots of locals go there. There is a mini fridge in room. Pool was large and fun. Great place for kids or couples. Rooms large - most likely because hotel is old but still in good shape. Staff was just "ok" and a bit snobby but no real complaints there. There is laundry in the hotel (1.50 a load) which is super handy! There is no beach but gorgeous views with lava rock and swells. If you dont want the crowds of kona then i would stay at this place. views and location were amazing! we had a garden view which we liked. ask clerk to show you a map of hotel where your room is located before you get your room key. we switched rooms because they initially had us overlooking the entrance to the parking lot! crazy! they will test you - trust me! The best snorkelling beach is super close by called Kahlu'u beach park. Awesome and amazing snorkelling- better than Hanauma Bay on Oahu. The best swim beach is called Magic Sand beach just up the road. No entry fees ( like on Oahu). It can get busy but not too bad on week days. We also rented a kayak and went out to Captain Cook monument for a few hours. That was the experience of a life time! The best snorkelling ever. Pay to go on a boat tour if you are not adventurous but if you. Are young and fit, you can do it on your own. Just remember to buy some cheap reef shoes because you will scrape your feet otherwise. Coffee farms are just 15 mins away. So much to see!

Room Tip: Look at hotel map before they assign you a room - tell them you will check room first before you tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Mahalo for your review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We were delighted to learn about all the aspects of your stay from snorkeling to a visit to Magic Sands Beach. We’re thrilled you enjoyed your visit to the Big Island and our resort. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We ended our 8 day trip on Big Island here for 2 nights. Upon arriving, we were impressed by the stunning. We were early but they allowed us to check in, which we weren't expecting. However, the room, which was on the 3rd floor of the Kualono wing (parking lot view), had problems. 1) it was right above ongoing construction of the 2nd floor and you could hear cement drilling, 2) the safe was broken, 3) it was not very clean, 4) paint was chipping, 5) the room, carpeting, and phones were very smelly. Upon arrival, we asked for double beds but was told there were none available. Later, after assessing that there were serious problems with the room, we requested a room change. We were kindly moved to a room with 2 double beds and an ocean view. We were extremely thankful, but annoyed that we were put in a room above construction that was clearly up next for renovations by a supervisor.

I never located the concierge desk. The front desk was always so busy so I could never ask for dinner recommendations or a map. Fortunately, I found everything I needed on trip advisor!

The pool side restaurant provided service without a smile and their servers never really made it towards the end of the children's pool. So I always had to go to the main bar for drinks. No one, except Chris at the bell stand and the woman who moved our rooms, was very cheerful or friendly, or service oriented. I guess we were spoiled by the fantastic, Hawaiian hospitality at the Hilton properties in Waikoloa and expected more from the Sheraton.

I think if we started off in the room we ended our stay in, I would've given 4 stars. But overall, considering the service, 3 stars is quite generous.

Room Tip: avoid the Kualono wing until renovations are complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are truly sorry that your initial room did not meet your expectations but we were glad to learn that upon speaking with our staff you were moved to another room that was to your liking. Thank you for your comments; we value all feedback positive or otherwise and will use this opportunity to strengthen our commitment to providing the best in service to each and every guest. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Business Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.