We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort - would come back again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay to your Saves list
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
california
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice resort - would come back again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We really liked this resort, probably because we love the architecture. It is a true indoor outdoor hotel maximizing the climate, breezes and views. They have done a nice restoration on it and we really enjoyed staying there. Our room was OK, the furniture was showing its age, but it was clean and had everything we needed. The patios are ample. The hallways echo when people are traveling through or going in and out of their rooms. We had a garden room over looking the tennis courts. It is the cool, quiet side of the hotel which is what we wanted. The staff is friendly and helpful, although a little overworked at the reception desk. The valet guys are friendly, helpful and very efficient in getting your car up quickly. The pool and slide are a lot of fun. Even though there are many people around the pool, it never felt crowded. There always appeared to be enough room and lounges for everyone. The breakfast restaurant is nice, with good food, especially off the menu. The waiters can be a little hurried when a lot of people arrive. Best time to get breakfast is before 8 pm. We loved "Rays on the Bay" restaurant. It is beautifully designed and viewing the Manta Rays just off the rocks is a magnificent experience. It is perfect place to eat, drink and watch the sunset along the Kona coast. You have make a reservation to get a table especially the ones with their own fire pit or the large group sofas. Also the little bar off the main lobby is really nice for a drink and watching the bay. It is more quiet than "Rays on the Bay". The hotel has done a nice job of giving visitors that wonderful Hawaiian experience even though it has no beach. Their gardens and landscaping are beautiful, along with the little chapel that overlooks the gorgeous Keauhou Bay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Aloha. Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay is set on 22 acres of tropical paradise. Our entire staff is dedicated to creating a memorable experience for our guests and we sincerely appreciate your gracious praise for them. We are thrilled you enjoyed so many things about your stay from our location and grounds to your dining experience at Rays on the Bay and viewing the manta rays. We hope that you can return again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    382
    193
    76
    35
See reviews for
254
494
41
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Island is incredibly beautiful. The volcanos & waterfalls are not to be missed – especially from the air. There is so much we didn’t have time to explore in our 4 days here that we will just have to come back!

There is so much to do on Big Island & the resort was a great, relaxing, picturesque base to come home to.

The pros & cons of the hotel are:

Pros
- Beautiful views from everywhere in the resort
- Spectacular gardens, that are a joy to stroll through. The resort has a free tour that everyone should go on to learn about the history of the area – fascinating & you walk away feeling like a local rather than a guest
Huge, sparkling, inviting swimming pool with waterslide (to be enjoyed by adults too) & the pool closes quite late
- Service throughout the resort is fantastic
- Tour desk is extremely helpful
- Tour companies pick up from the hotel
- Watching the manta rays from the restaurant is cool. The resort hosts an explanatory talk as well as a night swim with them which is awesome
- Rooms are clean
- The restaurants & café served delicious food
- Free trolley/shuttle available at regular intervals. It does a loop including the hotel, local shopping centre, village & the snorkelling beach (not for swimming or sunbaking because there’s not a lot of clean sand or water to swim freely in) but the snorkelling is lovely
- Excellent value for money

Cons
- Need a car – it’s too far away from everything & walking is not an option because a) it’s miles from anything & it’s hot hot hot. Trust me, we tackled the walk from the shopping centre!
- Dated building, rooms & bathrooms. We tend to leave the room really early & come back really late, so the standard of the room – as long as it was clean – really didn’t phase us at all
- No adults only area in the pool

Room Tip: Mountain view facing away from the parking lot was beautiful & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Mahalo for your detailed review which provides us with valuable insight into your stay. It was truly a pleasure to learn about all the amenities and services you enjoyed while staying at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We have to agree with you that four days is just not enough time to see everything that our beautiful island has to offer. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again the next time you are visiting the Big Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you're on a budget, but still want a resort stay, this is the locale for you. While it feels a bit outdated in the hallways, the rooms are pretty nice and interior courtyard is novel. Consider saving some money and staying in a non-ocean view room. Many of them still have a pretty view of the coastline and an excellent view of Kona's panoramic hillside.

While the location is a bit far from the Kona tourist district, they offer a few bonuses that might be worth it, especially with the resort fee. The pool is fun, but avoid the drinks by the pool (unless you like lots of juice and love to spend money.)

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Aloha. We are glad that you found Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay to be an affordable resort and that you enjoyed your stay. The resort fee you mentioned does cover a large range of amenities and services that enhance our guest’s experience. Among the benefits of the resort charge is the Keauhou Resort Trolley which our guest can ride unlimitedly to visit the local area. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is recently renovated. It is off the beaten path but well worth the extra few minutes it takes to get there. I thoroughly enjoyed the ocean view from the room, the great pool and excellent service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Aloha! We are elated that while staying at the newly renovated Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay you enjoyed the views, the pool and the services. It warms our hearts learn that you have referred to our resort as a gem in Kona, thank you. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We celebrated our 40th Anniversary at the Sheraton, Throughout our 2 week stay on the Big Island we stayed off and on at the hotel. We traveled around and always came back for the great hospitality offered at the hotel. The grounds are by far the prettiest we found around the Isalnd. Rays on the Bay is such a treat to be able to see the Manta Rays while dining. The only complaint would be there is no adult swim time and children are allowed in the hot tubs. On the weekends families from around the area come to play and stay and they tend to dominate the pool from open to close. We had a different room in a different location each time we stayed and they all had a view that was breath taking. The beds are very comfortable,also. Everyone is very helpful and friendly. There is a free trolley to town if you dont want to drive. The golf course next door has awsome omlets and is within walking distance.

Room Tip: On weekends dont get a room facing the pool. Way to many families with screaming children from 8am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Mahalo for your review and many compliments of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. It’s so wonderful that you chose to spend such a momentous occasion as your 40th anniversary with us on the Big Island. We’re delighted you enjoyed celebrating by exploring the area, viewing the mantas and taking in the breathtaking views of the island. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I am working on a long project in Kona (yes, tough, I know...) and some of us on the project decided to try the Sheraton. We got a very fair rate, and all of us really enjoyed the hotel. The view through the huge windows in the main lobby are spectacular, and we enjoyed watching the manta rays in the bay. Some people went on the night snorkel/dive to swim with the manta rays, and everyone raved about it.

Room was very clean and comfortable, and internet connection was very good.

The best thing we did was to take the walking tour of the grounds with Lily Dutoit. Lily is a beautiful local woman with many ties to the Hawaiian community and culture. Her talk about the grounds near Keauhou Bay was so interesting, and Lily is wonderfully engaging. At the end of her talk, she chanted an "oli" to give thanks of being able to share the aloha.

We also took the sailing canoe trip on a double-hulled outrigger canoe. We paddled for a bit, and then Kalani turned on the quiet motor, and we moved quietly on the beautiful bay. The water was 80 ft., but it looked like it was only about 10 ft. Kalani also gave a great talk about the history of the area, and explained how important names are in the Hawaiian culture.

I applaud the Sheraton for providing such a beautiful and important cultural option during our stay.

Mahalo nui loa --

Room Tip: Be sure to book a tour with Lily Dutoit. The walking is quite easy, and the reward is manyfold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
At Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay we proudly honor the culture, the history, and the people of Hawaii. One of the amenities that we offer here are several complimentary walking cultural tours with our Director of Cultural & Leisure Activities. We're delighted you enjoyed the opportunity to learn of the rich local history and get an up close and personnel look at some of the area's historic sites. We're thrilled that your long term project has brought you to Kona and to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Sheraton Kona
Very good value for the money. Clearly they are pricing some of their rooms ($149 from Orbitz) to recover from the poor reviews incurred during the renovation.
I saw none of the complaints mentioned by other reviewers, so management has been paying attention. Good and attentive service at check-in at their new lobby. Flower leis for the ladies and shell leis for the men, nice touch.
Pools were very good and the pool slide is fun. Will make you a kid again! If your shoulders need a little relaxing, sit under the waterfall. Didn’t try to order a poolside drink, but they did appear to be a little understaffed there. But hey, this is Hawaii, chill.
We tried to eat at Rays by the Bay at 8pm on our first night. Way too crowded, and loud band made it too noisy for us anyway. Went to the nearby shopping center to eat at the Italian restaurant.
The next night we planned ahead. Made a reservation for a 6pm dinner. Sun was going down, we asked for and they gave us a table with a firepit overlooking the cliff with the surf crashing below, plush armchairs were very comfortable, food was good, the manta rays made an appearance, the band was mellow, the temperature was sublime, all good! A wonderful last night in Hawaii.
Rooms were very comfortable. The exterior architecture is a bit dated (60s? 70s?) but that seems like a minor point and there is not much they can do to change that. No beach but the surf crashing into the lava cliffs is dramatic.
Annoying that they charged the resort fee on our second room even though it didn’t need parking or internet. Seemed like they were just making up for the low price point.

Room Tip: The “partial ocean view” is just that and not worth the $20 in my opinion. We looked at one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Mahalo for sharing your impressions of your recent stay at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We are thrilled that while sliding down the 200-foot-long lava tube waterslide at the Manta Ray Super Slide and Pool you enjoyed feeling like a kid again! Rays on the Bay was recently opened with our renewal and offers endless ocean views, romantic sunsets and the delightful flavors of the Kona Coast. Each night guests can enjoy live music by local artist beginning at 6 pm; we're happy you liked the entertainment while having dinner on your last night in Hawaii. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Business Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.