We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort to your Saves list
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   75-5961 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Very nice resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2006

This is a well-done resort with nice pools and it is very convenient to the town of Kona. The staff was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    146
    34
    11
    8
See reviews for
196
135
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2006

We are have been owners at Kona Hawaiian Village since Dec. 2002 and this is the first time we were able to stay there. It is a fantastic place!! The units are clean, bright and spacious. The resort plays Hawaiian music during the day on the grounds and it makes for a pleasant island experience. There is a welcoming party by the pool or covered by the lobby, it is a blast and they teach hula dancing. My brother-in-law took ukulele lessons and really enjoyed that. We also borrowed beach stuff, they have quite a lot available. There is so much to do on the Big Island, we went for two weeks and could have stayed much longer. We had an ocean view as well....and cooked on the barbeques. The central air conditioning works so much better than the last place we stayed in Kona.....and having mid-week cleaning where you get fresh sheets and soft towels is a real bonus (this is not usual for timeshare condos). They also provide all the paper towels, soap and toilet paper......GREAT PLACE.........Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2006

We loved Kona Hawaiian Village. The condo was huge and beautifully decorated. We watched the sunset over the ocean from our balcony. We were able to borrow beach chairs, beach umbrella, and boogie boards from the front desk. They do try to push you to go on a timeshare presentation when you first arrive. We told them that we would think about it, and they never bothered us again. The location is far enough away from Kona town, that you don't get any noise, but close enough to walk to shopping and dining. We thought the gardens on the grounds were beautiful. The only thing that could use some work was the grills. Many of them were out of gas or didn't light. We were able to find a working one each night we needed though. We also loved the lei making class. We hope to stay here again in the future. As for the bugs, they are almost impossible to completely irradicate in a tropical location. We did see some small ants in the kitchen and 2 small roaches. They did spray our condo midweek, and this seemed to help. We also always removed any garbage from our condo each day. Both of the pools were nice and clean. The lower pool had some shade and comfortable lounge chairs. The upper pool had a view of the ocean, no shade, and the chairs weren't very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, MN
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2006

In the words of my children, "It was awesome". They loved the space to spread out, the lanai, the tv's in every room (help!), the beds were comfortable and the activities were "cool".
The staff was very knowlegeable and accommodating. We signed up for several activities and were actually able to do all of them in one time block so to free up time for other island activities. Once the kids started one project, they moved right into the next without having to wait for it's appropriate time. They made wooden outrigger canoes, painted canvas bags and made picture frames. Another morning was jwelry making and my favorite morning was lei making. Fresh orchids, plumeria, bouganvilla and crown flowers piled onto table tops, while listening to live, authentic hawaiian music and stories. What a treat.
Our unit was upstairs and everything was well kept. The flowers on the grounds were intoxicating. My husband loved the grill areas and found it a great place to have a beer and some guy talk after a long day with the rest of us!
I appreciated the historical preservations on the grounds. The upper pool was nice, but fairly boring and open. The older, lower pool was more to our liking as a tropical oasis. Loved the sand and waterfall hot tub, great place to relax at night. It was usually quiet and often only a dozen or fewer people using the pool.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2005

We stayed at the Kona Hawaiian Village from the 18th of Dec. to the 25th. It was a beautiful room and the staff was very helpful. They knew everything there was to know about the island. The only problem was the bugs. We had ants in our beds at night, worms, centipedes, millipedes, and roaches in the kitchen. They said bugs were normal in Hawaii and we couldn't change our room, but after we couldnt take it anymore we called the manager, and had our room changed for the last two days. Once it was bug free it was a great stay. Just make sure you reserve a room on the second floor.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2005

Most of the reviewers seem to love this place, but my husband and I had a different experience. I am not an owner and would definitely not become one. Although it is relatively new, you can tell that in a few years, it will be looking pretty run down inside. There was a lot of grunge on the light switches which may not seem like a big deal to most, but it is a sign of how well they clean the place. The decorations are very generic and sparse. The ceilings are very thin as we could hear every step our upstairs neighbors took. It was a nice touch to have a washer and dryer inside and we definitely took advantage of them. The blanket on our bed was stained (we all know that hotels seldom wash the comforters and blankets) so we decided to wash it ourselves since we'd be there for a week and wanted to feel clean and comfortable. Our toilet did not flush well so we always had to flush it again. As another reviewer noted, there are lots of bugs and we had at least five centipede-like worms crawl inside and one even got into our bed so always check under the covers before you climb in! Both pools were small and heavily chlorinated. Thank goodness we paid less than $500 for our stay (a great deal from E-Bay); otherwise I would have been really disappointed. We spent our last two days at Wainuhea (a bed and breakfast in Honokaa) and had a wonderful, luxurious experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Address: 75-5961 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.