We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful Kona resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort to your Saves list
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   75-5961 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
New Milford, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“wonderful Kona resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Took the family here in April '13 for 10 days and we loved it. We had a two bedroom unit and it was big enough for 6 of us, our 2 girls shared the other bedroom(one queen sized bed) and our 2 boys shared the pull-out sofa bed. The unit was clean and the full kitchen had everything we needed for the nights that we ate in. The grounds are very well maintained and the whole resort is clean and quiet. The resort is within walking distance(about 15-20 minutes) of the shops and restaurants of Ali'i drive.

Room Tip: from what we saw all the rooms/units were about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    146
    34
    11
    8
See reviews for
196
135
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
KAPAA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

3 nights/4 days & manager NEVER called to resolve complaints. Paid for a 2 bedroom with whirlpool tub. Requested bench & handheld shower. NO tub because handicapped people don't need one? Shower flooded bathroom floor creating dangerous slipping situation. Shower curtain inadequate & plastic water barrier was flattened. Rooms are assigned a # of towels & need more? feel free to do your own laundry! No housekeeping until day 4 which meant NONE. Feel free to take out your trash to the barbeque area. Room was $259 per nt. Check in took over an hour standing at front desk due to lost reservation despite confirmation printout showing payment in full thru own website. Were checked in at unknown room price & never able to get a quote. Only bookkeeping knows. Nothing done to entertain complaints & problems. Coffee pot replaced 4 times. They could have dropped off a couple of leis or piece of pineapple. Manager didn't give a damn.

Room Tip: Ground floor does not mean no staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have stayed here twice, once in 2005 and just now in May, 2013 and have been impressed both times. The rooms really do make you feel like you are staying in Hawaii and not a hotel. The resort is quiet, peaceful and friendly. The staff went above and beyond to help us book our activities and make sure we were getting the best deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place made you feel as if you wer a true Hawaiian. The grounds were beautifully manicured and well kept. The staff was incredible. Pools and hot tubs were clean and well maintained. Have nothing bad to say about this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helper, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Recently spent a week at the Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort during a stay on the Big Island of Hawaii. The picture on trip advisor is just a little deceiving as this location would be by the pool. The rest of the property looks more traditional in the terms of condominiums. The location of the facility gave very good access to the nearby beach, restaurants and the downtown area. All within walking distance. The property was beautiful and very well taken care of . We had a lovely condo located on the ground floor and close to the front entrance. The condo was updated and very well taken care of, clean and had every amenity that was needed. The kitchen was well stocked for all occasions. The washer and dryer were a bonus and they even included laundry soap for our convenience. The bedspreads were beautiful on comfortable beds and the bathtub in the master bedroom was wonderful for soaking. Unfortunately, we had some tenants above us that were a little on the noisy side. I am convinced they were practicing their irish step dancing for an upcoming engagement. If at all possible try and score a room on the top floor, but make sure to keep in mind those poor folks below you. The a/c worked wonderfully during our stay. The patio area was a little bit of heaven. Enjoyed quite a few peaceful and beautiful breakfasts here. The facility had only two pools for several units so we didn't pay any visits to the pool area, but rest assured that they were beautiful and well maintained as well. The wi-fi at this location was free and very responsive. The book exchange was a very nice feature. The condo featured flat screen tv's in two of the rooms, but tv wasn't a priority during this visit so I can not give any insight on the quality of this service. All in all it was a very nice stay and we wouldn't hesitate to visit this location again in the future.

Room Tip: Try and snag a room on the top level to avoid any upstairs noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I traveled to The Big Island, and were looking to stay in Kona for three days/two nights in April. I will fully admit we did not check out all of the details of the hotel, but based on all of the positive reviews, we felt comfortable booking this property. This would be a great option for families traveling, with the fully stocked kitchen/washer and dryer/etc. This is NOT the place for those just staying a few nights (small pools, no food on property). The rooms were clean, nicely decorated (did not realize they would not be turned over every day...not an issue, just a heads up) and the grounds were well kept. The location was good to the center of Kona...may not be ideal to walk at night, but plenty of sidewalks for the 10 minute walk to the bars/restaurants. Washer and dryer were a nice surprise and came in handy halfway throughout our two week trip.
We were soured about the property as soon as we checked in. No welcome, no greeting just "What's the name?". Very quick and nasty...I understand all early check in accommodations can not be met, but we arrived at 10AM and our room was not ready until 4PM (check out is 10am...I mean, plenty of time to turn over a two bedroom property). Said we would receive a phone call when ready (did not). We checked out the pool (small, no sun, only about 8 beach chairs). Concierge was very nice but once they realized we were young/only staying for two nights and did many activities in Kauai, they stopped with the hard sell of their property. Upon check out, received rude service again (thank you to the gentleman at the front desk who stepped in and assisted us). To top off the visit...husband left his toiletry bag in the suite (colognes, razor, etc) and after four phone calls...STILL NO PHONE CALL BACK to assist. Front desk will not help, room service is not returning phone calls. Third hotel we stayed at in Maui were able to help us with new toiletries, etc.
Over all, appearance and rooms were well appointed. Would say the customer service really was the turning point for us on this resort. I mean we are in Hawaii on vacation…at least act like you are happy we are staying with you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in room 63A which was upstairs and had a partial view of the ocean. Nice, clean 2 bedroom, 2 bath with patio. Fully equipped kitchen and apt. washer/dryer was nice. Good location and within walking distance to the beach although there are plenty of beaches that are also within a 15 minute ride. Pools & bbq's on site.

Room Tip: room 63a upstairs has nice partial view of ocean & convenient parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Address: 75-5961 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.