We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific honeymoon spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   75-5961 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Jonesborough, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Terrific honeymoon spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was a great place to stay on our honeymoon. It was close enough to the "strip" that we could go there with no trouble, but far enough away to be quiet. The staff was THE best we have experienced as Wyndham owners. The unit was beautiful and well-kept, and we loved having the little barbecue area just outside the door. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    135
    33
    10
    8
See reviews for
179
122
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We arrived at the Wyndham Kona late on a Friday night. We had an expediate check in and found they had honored our request for our room very well. We had a traveller with us that had a hard time walking but we did not need a handycapped room yet ,and we had to be on the ground floor. I asked to be away from the road as I have exhaust issues and they honored every one of these requests.

The resort is beautifully maintained . Every thing we had a need for or asked, was answered pleasantly and was taken care of quickly. There was no pressure for the time share presentation at all. If I was prone to go to a time share presentation this would be the place as it certainly was not high pressure.

There are 2 pools an upper and a lower. We were close to the upper . In picking a unit I would definately choose on closer to the upper pool as they are quieter and you might get a view of the ocean especially on the top floor. There is a little noise on the bottom units which are the B units from upstairs but not too bad. A family up there might be harder to take. They say you used to be able to see more of the ocean but the trees have overgrown now.
The room is well equiped with full oven , fridge. micro and dishwasher and washer and dryer as well. Nice and clean when you get there. We had a cleaning after a week and admittedly it was hard to do as all our stuff was strewn around. They changed the sheets etc and the only comment I have is that it would have been nice if they would also have cleaned the shower door but that is very minor and probably just a slight oversight.

We stayed as 2 couples and there was plently of room with the 2 bathrooms. We actually liked the secondary bedroom as you can completely close off the bathroom. The master has a water closet(with a door) but the sink and tub are actually in the room and if your partner is a light sleeper you could risk waking them, whereas, with the second bedroom you can just close the door and do your thing.

All in all I would recommend this place. We had unit 68B and greatly enjoyed it. Happy travels to you.

Room Tip: Upper unit by upper pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Camp Kaos hit this place HARD over Turkey day 2012 for a full week & all I can say is WHAT A BLAST. We walked to town each morning and had coffee - also sampled some local breakfast wraps/muffins, whatever they were selling - we found JAVA LAVA's staff very nice and helpful(plus there was usually someone playing ukelali outside) very relaxed atmosphere. Ate and walked back, loved it. We rented a Jeep at the airport, great for getting to those remote beaches...but be forewarned some are NOT for the faint of heart. You must have experience driving one if you venture off the beaten path. We had an upper unit and with 2 kids, we did get a complaint from residents in the lower unit...boys will be boys - we enjoyed the grounds/pools whole deal. Every beach is within driving distance, tons of fun being so close to town and big island snorkeling is amazing - don't miss this one peeps especially if you have kids that like to be out & about -- also, the beach closest to resort has HUGE WAVES and major undertow....older kids with plenty of strength, don't take your little ones...could end up shark bait, really no joke. have fun

Room Tip: Upper units have less noise, would recommend units in middle of property to avoid neighborhood noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson Island, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We recently stayed for Christmas week. It was nice to finally be able to get our parking pass without signing up for the high pressure sales pitch. We will never change the flexible week that we have. Not much has changed over the years. Joy, Auntie Tutu & her brother are still great entertainers for group get-togethers. Hawaiian crafts are still available. There still is not enough chairs & lounges at the pools, and after 10+ years, we still don't see the restaurant/bar that was supposed to be opened at the lower pool. That would be so nice to finally have & make it a 5 star resort.

Room Tip: Unit 10A has a beautiful sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We are fortunate to have done a trade to come to this wonderful resort, the facilities are very good and the staff are always willing to help with lots of great information. We will be back hopefully sooner than later. Brad and Vicki

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Quiet, well maintained, comfortable, not right downtown. Close, by car to good restaurants. Spent the week with friends. Last time in Hawaii with these friends was 28 years ago. Good weather on the Kona side, but rainy on the Hilo side, raining sideways so could not walk to see active lava flows. All in all, a great week.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

After a long flight to get to Hawaii, I was interested in sleep.What we got was a gem. Warm and accommodating front desk for check in lead to a spacious condo for any visitor. With a full kitchen and living room to rival the size of any home, this place was great. Two full bedrooms with baths, one with a separate spa tub, this room was spacious and well equipped. And when I turned off the lights for sleep, all I go was the gentle sounds of the breeze. No rooster or obnoxious alarm is needed in the morning, as you are awakened to bird call and faint sounds of civilization. And just down the street is a superb sampling of shopping and people gazing on the big island. Good value, great sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Address: 75-5961 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.