We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with incredible staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   75-5961 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Discount
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Kailua-Kona
El Cajon, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with incredible staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We are fortunate to have done a trade to come to this wonderful resort, the facilities are very good and the staff are always willing to help with lots of great information. We will be back hopefully sooner than later. Brad and Vicki

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    119
    30
    9
    8
See reviews for
152
116
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Quiet, well maintained, comfortable, not right downtown. Close, by car to good restaurants. Spent the week with friends. Last time in Hawaii with these friends was 28 years ago. Good weather on the Kona side, but rainy on the Hilo side, raining sideways so could not walk to see active lava flows. All in all, a great week.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

After a long flight to get to Hawaii, I was interested in sleep.What we got was a gem. Warm and accommodating front desk for check in lead to a spacious condo for any visitor. With a full kitchen and living room to rival the size of any home, this place was great. Two full bedrooms with baths, one with a separate spa tub, this room was spacious and well equipped. And when I turned off the lights for sleep, all I go was the gentle sounds of the breeze. No rooster or obnoxious alarm is needed in the morning, as you are awakened to bird call and faint sounds of civilization. And just down the street is a superb sampling of shopping and people gazing on the big island. Good value, great sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights on Christmas 2012. It was quiet and clean and the landscaping was beautiful. Would recommend highly as long as you don't mind staying in a timeshare instead of a full service resort.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Wyndham is conveniently located on Alii Drive about 1 1/2 miles from the start of the IronMan. It was centrally located between Magic Sands beach and downtown dining. It was also easy to avoid the heavy traffic on Alii drive by escaping up the side road, just 100 feet off the property. The 2 bedroom/2 bathroom condo's are perfect for a relaxed family vacation. The resort provides outdoor grilling areas. a nice pool hot tub, exercise recreation room, plenty of opportunities for socializing or just being by yourself. The fullly functional kitchen is nice for preparing your own home cooked and more economical meals and it is only 2 miles up the back way to Sack and Save and a little further to Safeway, WalMart and a Natural Foods store. Wyndham will help you plan activities if you want them to help you. We've stayed there twice and enjoyed the quietness, the private lanai, the beautiful ocean view and the nicely kept landscaping. It is probably too big for a couple but is perfect for a family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had a lovely time at the Wyndham. The atmosphere was quiet yet tropical, and the grounds are very well maintained. My daughter and I loved the pool, and the activities were fun. Sadly, we found out about them on our last day. It seems if they put the effort into promoting their activities that they do to selling their timeshares, they would actually sell more timeshares. My husband was going to try to have a working vacation and he struggled 2 days to get a good wireless connection. They did finally move our room, but that was a bit of trouble in the middle of our trip. Overall our stay was enjoyable, the grounds and facilities were excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you need internet, be near the street side of the hotel. Also, we liked having a barbeque right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were at this location from December 1 - 8 and had a great time. The location is perfect, close enough for a walk into town but far enough away to be away from the busy ness of town. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Heading back in April.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. Ask for away from the pool if you want to ensure a quiet area as there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Wyndham
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Address: 75-5961 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.