We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation of a lifetime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Village Resort to your Saves list
Sea Village Resort
75-6000 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Vacation of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in unit 1306. The view was absolutely stunning from the linai. The unit was very clean and nice when we checked in. The kitchen was well equipped, and had everything that we needed for our week in Kailua-Kona. All of the appliances worked as they should. There is no air conditioning, but the room was still comfortable for sleeping with the windows open. The bedroom was along the outdoor walkway on the 3rd floor, so you could he any activity outside but other guests were respectful and observed the 10pm-8am quiet time. The pool was nice, and offered a great view of the ocean where we could see spinner dolphins jumping out of the water. The location is excellent, it's about a 15 minute walk down Alii Drive (or a 5 minute drive) from Sea Village to all of the shops and restaurants. I was hesitant to walk the road at first because there is a fair amount of traffic, but there are a lot of cyclists and joggers on the road, and it really is more pedestrian friendly than it first appears. There isn't a beach at Sea Village, but there are several nearby that you could walk to, and many more within driving distance. The resort staff was excellent, we didn't need much from them, but when we did they were always very helpful. The resort feels more like a home than a hotel. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel with maid service, daily cleanings, etc., this may not be the place to stay for. But, if you prefer a place that feels like home with a kitchen, laundry, and dishwasher I highly recommend Sea Village.

Room Tip: You probably get less noise on a 3rd level unit with nobody being above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    35
    17
    11
See reviews for
50
60
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

stayed with family for the triathalon. the rules said if you used all your rubbish bags or toilet paper or paper towels you had to replenish yourself. apt 4107 was clean but we were scared we'd be charged for the rubber flap that came apart in the toilet tank. it was dried out and we had to lift it manually to flush toilet. was supposed to be fixed in two days but wasn't. only one set of towels each for 4 people for 5 days. i guess we were expected to wash them after our baths. dryer lint catcher kept falling out 3 times in one cycle so we gave up. it's a nice place but for the price can't you be a little more generous with the rubbish bags and toilet paper? minor broken tiles on the deck and no a/c. they upped the price because of the triathalon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 10 night stay at the Sea Village. We had a nice one bedroom ocean view unit in bldg 3. We were on the second floor, right above the pool, and and the ocean just to our left. Being above the pool can get quite noisy. However, they do close the pool at 9:30. The other noise complaint would be the location of the bedroom. It's located by the front door which puts the windows at the entrance to the stairs and way too close to the parking lot. People seem to forget that when they're up at 5:30 a.m. loading there car for the day, and stomping up and down the stairs, and talking quite loudly, that there are others still trying to sleep! There is a Murphy bed in the living room. We did sleep on that a couple nights so that we could hear the ocean and get the nice breeze all night. This resort was one of two offered on the Big Island by our DRI timeshare. It is managed by Vacations International. What I discovered is that a lot of the units are privately owned which by reading some of the other reviews could be better or worse. The VI units all have the same amenities. You can tell by the lanai furniture which ones are owned by the resort. We have been very satisfied with every condo offered through our timeshare. The gals in the office (Missy and Lei) where very friendly and helpful. On the day we left, we had to check out by 11 a.m. Our flight did not leave until 8:45 p.m. They offered us a pool key and said we were welcome to stay until 5:00 to use the outside accommodations Also, on the day we arrived at noon, check-in was not available until 4:00 and they did give us a pool key and the code to use the resort internet.

The Big Island is much different than the others. It's not as pretty as you drive around because it's mostly black lava rock everywhere. This resort does not have a swim beach. It's all rock. But the views are all great, and we enjoyed watching the para-sailers and the spinner dolphins from the Lanai. There are some very nice beaches too drive too. We were lucky enough to find Two Step Beach for the absolute best snorkeling. The water was so clear and the fish and coral were just breathtaking. There is a huge Farmer's Market downtown Wed-Sunday which was very nice. There is a lot to do, and a lot of driving to do it. Drive Hwy 19 from the north to see all the waterfalls till you get to Hilo. Come back the same way, because the southern roads are slow and windy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

They have a multi-million dollar view. No beach, but they do have a cute little pool and hot tub. If you don't like stairs see if you can get a ground floor room, because there is no elevator.Centrally located and friendly staff.
Kitchen had bugs, so keep EVERYTHING in the refridgerator. Pots and pans had mold, so I would suggest paper plates and microwave. Who wants to do your own cooking anyway.
I would give Sea Village a very good rating, but *NO AIR CONDITIONING* makes it uncomfortable to sleep. Overall it is a good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We rented our first floor unit through Vacation Internationale and couldn't be happier with our choice. The unit was spotlessly clean and well-stocked with a fresh decor and all the kitchen equipment we needed to prepare simple meals. The laundry unit was brand new and very helpful! Our one bedroom unit had minor issues with noise from the pathways when our neighbors entered their unit, but we didn't find that a major annoyance. The living room was spacious and furnished with standard bamboo couch and chairs typical of condo units, dvd player and flat screen tv. The lanai was fantastic - private and directly overlooking the sea and a distant view of Kailua-Kona. Well protected from the occasional showers and a perfect retreat for morning papaya breakfasts or a leisurely dinner watching the sunset.

The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained, with a barbecue area and a pool with changing area and patio overlooking the sea. We spent our last night floating in the pool watching the full moon rising over the mountains, listening to the sea. It was clear that there were also long-term residents at the complex as we had friendly conversations with dog walkers and a neighborhood cat, so there wasn't a transient, touristy feel to the place. The VI personnel on the grounds were friendly and helpful, very laid back and willing to go the extra mile for special requests. No timeshare presentations!

It's a hefty walk to town along a very busy road but there's also a little coffee shop on the grounds, The Green Flash, which provides a yummy breakfast and Kona coffee. The town is close by although there are only two main arteries, so it can get busy. Better to turn right out of the complex and go to the shopping center down the way where there are groceries and a movie theater - and gorgeous beaches.

We loved Sea Village despite wondering over other reviews on Trip Advisor and would return in a heartbeat (and probably will next year). It's a comfortable, friendly, non-touristy retreat that encourages you to dream that you are living in Hawaii!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at 4313 sea village 15-jul-2011 => 25-jul-2011. The condo is very well furnished and stocked -- boogie boards, snorkeling stuff, hat for dad's bald head, spices, utensils, everything. If you're looking for big island activities, most of them are based very nearby (snorkel cruises, submarine, and all sorts of other adventures). All of the Kona "action" is a very short walk or drive down ali'i drive.

The property itself is clean and manicured. The pool area is great for relaxing after the day's outing, and there are also plenty of bbq grills where you can cook and chat w/ your fellow vacationers.

All in all, it was a great value. And Jennifer from Sun Quest was also very helpful in every way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We found our room to be right on par with many of the previous comments. The feel of this resort is more like an apartment complex than a "vacation resort". The room was adequate for our needs. We had been warned before booking that there was no elevator and no air conditioning. So if three flights of stairs or daytime temperatures in the 80's with humidity in the 50's is too much, consider another location. At night by around 9:00 PM the air cooled off and sea breezes helped to cool the room. There were two ceiling fans installed but we also went to a local store and bought a 20 inch box fan for $20 which helped cool off the room quickly each evening.

When we visit the Big Island we spend our days exploring the island, going to beaches, mountains, etc. so our accomodation is just a place to sleep, eat breakfast, store our stuff, and relax before going to sleep. We did use the pool several times, and we did stay in one evening and grill a steak on the resort provided gas grills. We ate our breakfast each morning on the lanai and just enjoyed the ocean view while planning the day.

We called the office the day before we checked in because we suspected our flight might be late. The resort office closes at 5:00 PM. They put the room key in a small lock box on the outside of the office and we used the phone on the wall to talk with their answering service who gave us the lock box combination. By notifying the office ahead of time about our late arrival they had the opportunity to give us some pointers about the local area and the resort.

There is no beach at this resort. We did find a very nice swimming beach two miles south on Alii Drive so it became our first stop of the day. One morning a small sea turtle joined us in the surf and swam around us and the others.

All in all we enjoyed our visit and would return for another stay at Sea Village.

Room Tip: Buildings one and four have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Village Resort

Address: 75-6000 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Sea Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Village Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sea Village Kailua Kona
Sea Village Kona
Sea Village Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.