We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New location - Kaiwi street Kailua-Kona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amici Bar and Grill

Amici Bar and Grill
74-5563 Kaiwi St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96750
808-322-9582
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 209 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“New location - Kaiwi street Kailua-Kona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stumbled across this restaurant while hungry. Apparently previously south of Kona, that location closed when the theater closed. Now on the north side of Kona on Kaiwi street. Lunch was good, servers were attentive. I had the local fresh cod, wife and kids had different pastas. Think I liked my daughter's "red" sauce in the kids pasta the best. All sauces were freshly made.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    32
    7
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Lotta locals must mean something!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We came since some acquaintances said they were celebrating their birthday there. We arrived around 5:30, and were seated 'outdoors'. It was 'nice'. Not great, but nice. The waiter seemed as full of himself as many, but pleasant enough. Service was a bit slow, but we are on vacation. The food was excellent! Isn't this what you want from a restaurant? We were taken by the number of locals with their children, given the 'pricey' (a lot higher than Micky D's) menu, and actually delighted in talking to our neighboring tables. Portions were so generous that we could not finish our meals, although I personally only ordered three 'appetizers'. The bruschetta? Tasty, but a tad too salty. The calamari? I would opt for the fried over the sautéed. The eggplant lasagna? Magnifico! As was my sangria. And my wife's pasta. I'd visit there again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“wonderful flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We met friends that live on the Big Island for dinner, the restaurant used to be close to their home but it moved into Kona. We sat out on a patio and ate wonderful food in a unhurried setting. The staff and owner were friendly. The inside of the restaurant is undergoing some kind of renovation, so it is only patio dining. It is in a industrial part of town, but well worth looking for.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Horrible service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I might be a bit critical because I'm in the industry but the service is unbelievably sloooooow. After waiting 22 minutes for drinks she didn't bring all of them. The waitress had no idea what multi tasking is. She would bring checks out one at a time as well as food and drinks. That's why they make trays lady. The only thing she was fast about was dropping the check. My rigatoni was bland and runny. The bread tasted 2 days old. Don't go there!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Worst ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This place seemed so promising and ended up being an epic fail. Waited 20+ mins for drinks (a soda and a Draft beer)
Got bread after entrees were served and the first basket must have been at least 2 days old. One entrée was good the other was miserable. Our server was one of the worst ever. She had no sense of urgency. She just strolled around not taking her job seriously. To describe this restaurant in one word it would be "pitiful"

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amici Bar and Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Amici Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amici Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.