We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fun trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kila Kila Sportfishing - Capt. Gabe Heflin

Kila Kila Sportfishing - Capt. Gabe Heflin
78-639 Ihilani Place, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
808-896-2711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 203 Activities in Kailua-Kona
Type: Boat Tours, Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the trip of a lifetime aboard one of Kona's finest boats. "Kila Kila" is a beautiful 53' Merritt operated Captain Gabe Heflin. Kila Kila is one of the largest, most comfortable, luxurious boats in the Kona fleet. Offering six different species of billfish, Kona, Hawaii is home to some of the best big game fishing in the world. Catch your trophy fish with memories to last a lifetime!
Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Really fun trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went on a fishing trip with a party of six. First, the boat is really nice and i mean really nice. The cabin has AC and nice leather couches. Second, Capt. Gabe and Joe were awesome. Both very nice and friendly. Joe may be one of the most amazing fisherman I've been around. He has all sorts of methods and stories. The trip itself was a lot of fun. We saw whales, dolphins and only got one mahi mahi, but we are here for a wedding and the groom caught the fish. Pretty much a success.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptGabeHeflin, Owner at Kila Kila Sportfishing - Capt. Gabe Heflin, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks you guys for the review. It was a pleasure having you aboard. I am glad we were able to make it happen for the groom to be. I hope you enjoyed your trip. Aloha, Capt. Gabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
1 review
“Best day of vacation !!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Thanks capt.Gabe & crew,our day fishing was so much more than we expected.Even the ladies cant wait to go on the Kila Kila again.(they usually frown at deep sea fishing).We will be back to kona for sure because of the great time we had there,and we'll be spending <several days> with you next time.
Superb from the moment we called to inquire,they are real professionals, it really shows they love what they do.
Thats what i call fishing in style!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“An Unreal Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Fishing on the Kila Kila with Captain Gabe was definitely the coolest thing we did during our stay in Hawaii. The boat itself was beautiful. With polished wood, leather couches, a galley, and two bedrooms, we soon found we were fishing in high style. Captain Gabe had everything all set for us when we got there (beer, sodas, snacks) and even pointed out a 16’ tiger shark before we even got out of the harbor! He was awesome at explaining what he was doing and why and made us feel like we were in on the plan. I guess before I thought we would just drive around the ocean and maybe we’d get lucky and catch a fish. How wrong I was. Captain Gabe has fishing down to a science. Explaining fathoms, underwater ridges, and how to make the lures ride the swells like a real fish. He was right too, because we caught 5 Aku Tuna, 1 Ono, and 2 Striped Marlin in 4 hours! Not to mention, both marlin hit at the same time, so the chaos that ensued was a tremendous memory that we’ll never forget. There are many boats to choose from if you want to fish in Kona, but none of them are as luxurious as the Kila Kila and there is certainly not a better captain than Captain Gabe.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend Kila Kila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just finished a full day on the water and recommend this boat for anyone visiting Kona. For the avid tournament or bill fish angler this boat has everything. Capt. Gabe is serious about finding fish and he and his crew made me feel right at home in that fighting chair. I have to say I wasn't sure about bringing my wife and daughters, just because trolling for giant fish is not for everyone, but again the crew and the luxurious galley and staterooms made it an adventure they are ready to do again tomorrow. With strikes on mahi, ono, and blue marlin I think we were one of the fishiest boats for the day. If you go say aloha to Gabe and get ready to catch some fish.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake elsinore
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We took our family out with Capt Gabe to go swim with dolphins at captain cooks monument. Our experience was amazing. Capt. Gabe was so friendly, great with our kids, and new the best spots to snorkel and swim. Not to mention that the boat was so beautiful! We had an amazing experience and would highly recommended this to everyone!
Thanks again Capt. Gabe

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kila Kila Sportfishing - Capt. Gabe Heflin also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kila Kila Sportfishing - Capt. Gabe Heflin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kila Kila Sportfishing - Capt. Gabe Heflin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.