We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value, EXCELLENT staff, large suites, comfortable, but a little dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village

Save Saved
You added Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   78-7190 Kaleiopapa Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonton
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Superb value, EXCELLENT staff, large suites, comfortable, but a little dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was our first time on the "Big Island", and we stayed 4 nights at the Holua Resort. First off, I must say the staff are superb, especially the night desk staff, who showed us to our room when we had a late check-in due to a delayed flight. As everything was closed by the time we arrived (past 11pm local time), we were quite thirsty, and when I inquired as to where the closest convenience stores or vending machines were, the gentleman just offered by a handful of juices and water from his own personal stash, as nothing was open at that time other than maybe Safeway in town. I was quite appreciative, and as I asked what I owed him for the juices and water, he politely declined any payment! I left him a tip which he insisted wasn't necessary, and I think this interaction best sums up most of our experience at the resort. Everyone we came across were friendly and helpful, without expecting anything in return.

The rooms themselves were much larger than we expected, with a very nice lanai. The interiors were a little dated, but clean and quite comfortable, and the space was nice to have as we were travelling with an infant. The dish detergent and packet of laundry detergent was a nice touch also for the included in suite washer/dryer.

We quite enjoyed our stay here and would definitely consider staying again if we return to Hawaii in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    83
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
148
166
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was probably our 4th stay at Holua, and we've thoroughly enjoyed every one of them. While not one of the palatial, over-the-top, “marble everything” resorts, it has always fit us perfectly. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the suites are spotless and quiet because of the location of the parking garage and the distance from the road. And the landscaping is possibly their pride and joy; very beautiful and very Hawaiian.

Holua is primarily a timeshare resort (we're Shell Vacations Club members), and the units are quite spacious. While it does not have a beach, it's adjacent to the 2nd hole of the Kona Country Club and it's easy to walk the fairway around sundown for an incredibly gorgeous sunset.

The only break in the "quiet" is the huge and gaudy Sheraton not far away. Their luau show one evening was quite loud and annoying, as our unit faced it directly across the fairway. But all in all, we love this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was our 4th visit to Holua Resort (the second with family) and we were, once again, pleased by the staff--always accommodating--and the grounds--always meticulously maintained. Auntie Beth is the best! Shawn (listed as "concierge" but oh so much more!) was beyond helpful.. we'll be baaaack!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This place reminds me of a refurbished 1980's apartment complex. There is no beach, but plenty of swimming pools on the property, sometimes overrun by noisy kids (blame the parents). Apartments are quite large and have full kitchen, washer/dryer etc., though the bathrooms could use some updating. It's about 7 miles from downtown Kona, so you'll need to do your own cooking, but there is a shopping center about a mile away. The Sheraton is the property next door, and has some nice restaurants to go to. Overall though, we'd stay there again. GOOD value in the off or shoulder season.

Room Tip: Avoid apartments located near the swimming pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It was our 30th wedding anniversary and my wife wanted to make it somewhat special as we only had a window of 2 days. Our anniversary was on Nov. 22 which happened to be on Thanksgiving. I made the reservation with Holua and called the local florist to deliver a dozen red roses with a box of chocolates to the front desk. I called Holua and asked if they could set up the roses for my wife as we were traveling from Hilo after her radiation treatment for her breast cancer. I wanted to surprise her. Holua did more than just setting up the roses and the box of chocolates. They added a bottle of Martinelli's Sparkling Apple Cider which my wife and I enjoy at New Years. We don't drink alcohol. I was surprised to see the bottle with 2 beautiful champagne glasses with the Holua Resort emblem etched in the glass. The bellman brought our suitcases in the 1 bedroom suite and showed us all the amenities. As we walked around the grounds, staff would pass us and always with a smile, greet us with a hello, good morning or some sort of ALOHA. I would suggest staying at this resort over anywhere else on the Kona side of the island.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. You simply can't beat the price of a 1 bedroom with kitchen, living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Staff and property were incredible. Low key and loved the aloha feeling from the moment we arrived! Great selection of movies and board games. Out microwave pooped out and it was repaired in less than 30 minutes. Every single person made you feel like you were the only one they were there for. I think everyone should have their own golf cart upon check in, but the walking helped work off all the mac nuts I consumed. Eddie was the greatest bellman EVER!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Location is close to everything you want but not in the thick of traffic. Condos are very spacious. Staff are FANTASTIC. Plenty of amenities and love all the pools throughout the resort. This was my third visit and was not disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village

Address: 78-7190 Kaleiopapa Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Specialty lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning coastal view of Keauhou Bay’s private harbor, the Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village invites you to enjoy your perfect Hawaiian vacation. The Holua Resort offers 73 spacious, air-conditioned villas designed with a Hawaiian flair. Each comfortable villa offers a private lanai or patio with ocean, mountain or golf course view. Step outside your door and enjoy eight sparkling swimming pools and whirlpools, 11 world-class tennis courts, a fitness facility, and even on-site activities. When you’re ready to explore your spectacular surroundings, head out to sea for some of the best sport fishing in the Pacific. Surf crystalline tropical waters in the morning and snow-ski on breathtaking Mauna Kea in the afternoon. From fascinating sights and spectacular natural beauty to endless recreation, the best of the "Big Island" welcomes you Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village for your next romantic getaway, family vacation or golf trip to Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holua Resort At The Mauna Loa Village Hotel Kailua-Kona
Holua Hotel Kailua Kona
Holua Resort Mauna Loa Village
Holua Resort At The Mauna Loa Village Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.