We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa de Emdeko is awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Emdeko

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Emdeko
Save
You added Casa de Emdeko to your Saves list
KonaAWESOMEcondo, 75-6082 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
ALOHA WELCOME BASKET
Portland, OR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Casa de Emdeko is awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Stayed in Condo #133 and it's terrific! 1 bedroom. literally steps away from the beach, beautiful sunsets, an amazing salt water pool (they also have a regular pool but we never used it) and very quite. This is a smaller condo resort with great family feel-- everyone was very friendly and one night one of the staff even serenaded guests with beautiful Hawaiian songs! Only disadvantage is there's no swimming beach, but that's Kona. This unit was perfect -- very clean! and the owner was great. You get the experience of Hawaii without the high price. Highly recommend Casa de Emdeko and condo #133!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    40
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
43
86
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

We stayed in a condo at Casa De Emdeko #301. The condo was nicely furnished and the bed was very comfortable. Great location on the water. Has two pools, salt and fresh water. Grounds were well maintained. Nice views of the ocean and sunsets. Great place to stay!!

  • Liked — Views from balcony, interior decor, salt water pool
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

Rented Unit #228 at Casa de Emdeko - huge mistake. The website (search 'kona cool condo') does not accurately portray or describe the conditions of this unit. I booked this unit directly through the owner, paid in full, and learned a lesson - never book without a travel agent and never pay in full again.

The unit is uncomfortable, poorly maintained, and unclean. Upon entering there is a terribly musty/moldy smell (more so than you woudl expect on an island property). The "upscale" furnishings are uncomfortable, filled with odor. The linen closet contained mouse droppings, shower door leaks profusely, shower is moldly, kitchen is not adequately stocked for serviceware. The sofa is like sitting on concrete, the sofa bed is no better. The unit is advertised as suitable for 4 guests; if there were 4 guests, they would each have to walk through the one bedroom to get to the bathroom. Moreover, there is nowhere for 4 guests to eat other than the lanai with the most uncomfortable metal chairs.

After two days, we opted to pay extra money to stay at a completely different unit. We were that dissatisfied and uncomfortable. When we confronted the board, they were very helpful. When we confronted the owner, they basically said we got what the website advertised. The owner also refused to refund any portion of our fee.

There is a memory book in this condo containing 2 years worth of dissatisfied comments and experiences. In fact, one entry noted that unit was in "deplorable condition".

Casa de Emdeko is a nice property - a bit older but comfortable, beautiful view, and helpful staff. The sunset views over the ocean are spectacular and the staff is kind. Do yourself a favor - though - do not rent Unit #228.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabulousmelanie
1 review
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

Awesome, awesome, awesome!!! Extremely clean, very beautiful, great location. My husband, my sister and I stayed here for a week and loved every minute. A/C was great, this is very important to my husband. The posting prior to mine says the sofa bed is uncomfortable but they must not have found the thick bed pad that actually made the sofa bed more comfortable than the bed. The sunsets and the pool set next to the ocean so that you can hear pounding waves was wonderful. Janice is great at answering questions, provided a welcome kit with vacation ideas, and a welcome basket when we arrived. I stayed at the Sheraton Waikiki the week after this and the condo was so much better it is astounding. You can cook for yourselves, barbecue, sit on the lanai. The Sheraton's furniture was so uncomfortable you can't even sit on it. Rent THIS PLACE!!! This is great value, great comfort, and great service.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Stayed with my 2 teenaged daughters in #125 for 9 days in July. This was a great choice for families traveling with kids who want access to a kitchen and a more 'homey' atmosphere. The condo was so well stocked on arrival that we regretted going to the market before we had seen what was already there. T
he policy is 'take something, leave something', and it seems that everyone who stays there honors that. There are two pools, salt and fresh water, and it is very convenient to all Kona activities. You can walk to town if you want, and there is a small market on site. Only complaints were that the sleeper sofa mattress was impossible to sit, let alone sleep, on....really thin so you feel the metel underneath. The pools close and lock up early, so no late (10pm) night swims unless you want to hop the fence. Other than that we loved it, and the owners were as kind and helpful as we had heard. They were grateful for any feedback. Also, wonderful to bbq while watching the sea and sipping a margarita. Paradise!!!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

We totally enjoyed our stay at Kona Awesome Condo (#123) at Casa de Emdeko. The space is clean, air-conditioned (not always available in rental condos), well appointed with light-hearted and fun island-themed decorations, and stocked with everything we needed for a wonderful stay. We love to cook and created some great meals at the condo. The concept of leaving something and using something is a welcome change from condos that are empty except for a few undersized pots and pans and salt and pepper. In contrast, this condo was well-stocked with appliances, cookware, spices and other condiments, even beverages left from a previous renter! It felt like home!

The complex itself looks a bit dated from the outside, but once you see the condo and the interior courtyard, pools and beach area, its charms become apparent. The Unit is on the first floor and opens to a lanai facing a beautiful garden courtyard with a fountain. The ground floor unit allows you to walk right off the lanai to the two pools (fresh and salt water) and down to the beautiful waterfront. We especially liked the silky-feeling saltwater pool down by the water's edge. It almost felt like an infinity pool! All common areas were well-maintained and planted beautifully.

As for the condo itself, the king sized bed with a mattress topper was very comfortable, which is not the norm in many rental condos, and we especially enjoyed the two-person walk-in shower and double sink bathroom - again, not often present elsewhere. We also found the setting very quiet, relaxing, and romantic, especially during evenings. One neighbor softly played an acoustic guitar off his lanai which just added to the soft, tropical atmosphere.

The owner, Janice Hamilton, provided excellent customer service. Besides the thoughtful welcome basket full of goodies she had waiting for us, she also provided much needed tips on things to do to enjoy the island to its fullest. Most noteworthy was the extent to which she availed herself when we realized we'd left belongings there. Her enthusiasm for the place was contagious and helped us feel excited and most welcome!

We whole-heartedly recommend "Kona Awesome Condo" to anyone visiting the Big Island and look forward to renting it again!

  • Liked — Cool, comfortable, well-stocked kitchen and nice salt-water pool. Great owner!!
  • Disliked — Outside of complex looks dated.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

I will add another voice to the reviews of units other than Unit #123. Most of the previous reviews have been about that one unit. I'm sure that it is well stocked, lovely and that Janice is an attentive and hospitable owner BUT... this unit is close to the office and laundry room, is on the first floor and has only a garden view. My husband, I and our 14 year-old son recently stayed in unit #327, a 1 bedroom with a sleeper sofa in the living room. We booked through Kona Coast Vacations and this third floor unit has an ocean view, was clean and modern and had a great bathroom with a huge shower. It was exactly as pictured on their website which is always a pleasant surprise and Kona Coast Vacations was a pleasure to deal with. The small problem of not having adequate bedding for the sofa bed was resolved immediately with the delivery of a brand new blanket still in the package. The complex is older but very well cared for. The pools are small but clean, the landscaping lovely and the oceanfront common area with grills and a nice "fake beach" is very clean and picturesque. For $100 a night with an ocean view our unit was an unbelievable value. One of the evening security guards was a grumpy old geezer and looked at anyone under 60 like they were "gypsies, tramps and thieves" but in general everyone was very nice. Understand that there is little privacy here. You do look right into the units opposite from you and I could hear every obnoxious detail of the conversation of the loud voiced cell phone screamer on next lanai over. The quality of the units here vary wildly so be sure to know what you are booking. I would certainly recommend unit #327 as a clean, modern vacation value in a great location.

  • Liked — Location and quality of Unit
  • Disliked — Lack of privacy
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Emdeko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Emdeko

Address: KonaAWESOMEcondo, 75-6082 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KonaAWESOMEcondo offers the best vacation value in Kona Hawaii. A fully supplied and equipped clean condo is your home away from home, with everything you'd need to enjoy your adventurous or relaxing vacation. Enjoy our extra amenites, such as: beach chairs, umbrellas, coolers, snorkel gear, boogie boards, soaps, shampoos, lotions, toiletries, dish soap, laundry soap, cleaning supplies, bath robes, beach towels, hair dryers/irons, foil/wrap, spices, free wi-fi and so much more, is included in our low nightly rate. Having these amenities saves you a fortune on things you'd only need once or twice. Every other condo you find will be empty upon your arrival. Customer service and satisfaction are KonaAWESOMEcondo's top priorities. We treat our guests the way we would want to be treated. Give us a call: Janice/owner We look forward to having you as our guests!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Emdeko Hotel Kailua-Kona
Casa De Emdeko Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Emdeko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.