We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh produce” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Farmers Market

Kona Farmers Market
Ecke Ali'i Drive / Hualalei Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 111 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Attraction details
Fountain Hills, Arizona, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fresh produce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We've been coming to Kona since 1990, and the Farmer's Market is one of our first stops each trip. Years ago, it was a true farmer's market of locally grown products. Although there are fewer produce stands, it's still the best place for fresh fruits and vegetables. This year we found the best mango we have ever had. Wish we could have brought one home. We were disappointed not to find tropical flowers this year.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    25
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“neat place to shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

They have a huge variety of locally grown fruits and vegetables. Reasonably priced. Also a good place to get inexpensive souvenirs.Saw some items here that were cheaper than those sold in town. Also saw some high quality items as well. Baked goods and home made items.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fresh produce and handmade goods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Fresh produce! Great deals to! Huge avacados! All very reasonably priced! Fresh baked goods too! Buy a loaf of the cinnamon bread it's very good 5$ well spent ! Tons of cheap souvenirs and if your looking for a off the wall item u just may find it there too! I go to kona 1 a year and visit the market at least twice! Great deals and a great selection of stuff!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great produce!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Produce is amazingly fresh and great prices. Fun items to look at. Some very unique items to choose from.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

One thing that many visitors do not know is that Avocados are found in varieties that only grow in certain locations in Hawaii. I was told that between all the islands there are over 100 varieties. Also onions are different from island to island. Baked goods are often something you have never tasted before especially the breads. The parking is wonderful most of the time and is convenient to use to also go for a stroll to nearby shops. Relax, take your time and investigate but I would bring water as it can get hot based on the time of year you go. The Styrofoam cooler with ice is also handy if you are not going directly back to where you are staying. Nothing is worse then buying something and it "melts" in the car as the wife is looking at a sun dress.
Vegas Pete

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Farmers Market also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Farmers Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.