We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an incredible dive experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Ocean Adventures

Kona Ocean Adventures
Honokohau Marina, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-930-9861
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winner of the 2012, 2013 and 2014 Trip Advisor Certificate of excellence!. Come Experience the Kona Coast of the Big Island of Hawaii like never before. Swim with the spinner dolphins, snorkel with the manta rays at night, whale watch (seasonal),scuba dive or customize your water experience on a private charter with Kona Ocean Adventures.No crowds, no rush, just a safe and exceptional trip for all. Family vacation, a spiritual journey, honeymoon, or simply looking to experience a once in a lifetime adventure, you have come to right place. We now have 3 boats to accommodate various size groups. With over 15 years of experience traveling the Hawaiian Islands, Captain Danny, Captain Laure and their crew will make your adventure a memorable one.
Franklin, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What an incredible dive experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Make sure you take advantage of a fantastic snorkel/dive experience while you're visiting the Kona side of the big Island. Captain Danny Scott and his team pulled together the most incredible dive I've ever done. A pod of 50+ dolphins swim by, leaving me giggling into my mask. If you can imagine being in crystal blue ocean, with dolphins cavorting 360 degrees around you, a couple of rays below you, and several morays gaping as you drift by--then you can visualize this dive.

Captain Danny provided levity in between, and the guide was great! Be sure and ask to see the prehistoric shark tooth he carries on-board, and the pictures of the turtle with the gaping shark bite--a must before you enter the water! Oh, and the story of his moray bite is one for the ages!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny and Laure S, Owner at Kona Ocean Adventures, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha,

Thanks for the awesome review! We love what we do and enjoy sharing the underwater world with new and advanced divers alike.

Mahalo for choosing Kona Ocean Adventures and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

A hui ho,

The KOA team
Danny, Laure, Lindsay, Andy and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    2
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great boat and people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Danny and Lindsay gave us a great trip out of Kona on their boat. Swimming with the dolphins did not turn out like we had planned. Rain and choppy seas kept us from getting in the water as much as we wanted. We still had fun seeing the dolphins in and out of the water! They did everything they could to try to find sunny spots where we could be warm on a "challenging" trip. They were kind and helpful to all of us from 10 year old twins to a nervous 65 year old grandmother. I would highly recommend them and hope to try again on our next trip to Hawaii.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny and Laure S, Owner at Kona Ocean Adventures, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha,

Thanks for the wonderful review - we are so pleased when our guests take the time to write about their experience with us. Swimming with wild dolphins is a once in lifetime experience not to be missed while visiting the Big Island of Hawaii.
Our whole team does it very best to make sure you have an incredible experience with us!
Every so often, mother nature gives us a few challenges and we always do our very best under any circumstances.

A Hui Ho (until we meet again)

Laure and Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You won't find a more thoughtful crew!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went out with Danny, Lindsay, and Tim on our afternoon excursion and again with Lindsay, Kent, and Andy on our Manta night dive.

My dad has some mobility issues, and Lindsay was so attentive to him in a way that made me relax that they were watching out for him without embarrassing him.

My husband dove with Kent at night and Tim in the daytime and enjoyed both.

Lindsay was with me for the afternoon snorkel and the manta night snorkel and kept checking to make sure I was doing ok since I'm not a very confident swimmer. She's easy to talk to and puts you right at ease.

The only thing that would have been good to know in advance is that the water gets very choppy at night in the bay where the mantas feed so if anyone in your party is planning on staying on the boat, they should be prepared for a moderate amount of rocking!

Other than that, just let them know what you want to do and they will make sure you get to do it! Can't ask for more than that!

And as an aside, Captain Andy is also a chef at Mi's Italian restaurant which we very much wanted to try but ran out of time. Apparently, everything there is made fresh from scratch including the pastas and bread, and it sounded amazing. We were bummed that we didn't make it over there, but maybe next time!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny and Laure S, Owner at Kona Ocean Adventures, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guests,

Thanks for sharing your wonderful family with us! We had a wonderful time with all of you and look forward to your next visit with Kona Ocean Adventure

Warm Aloha from Hawaii,

Laure and Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best day ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Adams Family wants to thank Danny, Lore, Lindsay and Andy for two great outings during our vacation. We were lucky enough to spend the morning with Danny and Lindsay swimming with a couple pods of spinner dolphins. Later that night we went put with Andy and Lindsay for the Manta Ray night dive. Both were great. The entire staff of Kona Ocean Adventures went out of their way to make sure we had once-in-a-lifetime experiences. Thanks for making our vacation one we won't forget!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny and Laure S, Owner at Kona Ocean Adventures, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha the Adams family,

we had a blast with you guys :-). Thanks for choosing us and supporting Kona Ocean Adventures. We strive to provide a awesome adventure to our guests and look forward to your next visit.

Warm Aloha from Hawaii,

Laure, Danny, Andy, Lindsey and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great company!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My mom and I went on a dolphin swim with Danny and Lorre and we had a great time! They are amazing people and were patient and helpful with me when I was scared to be in the water. Plus, we saw hundreds of dolphins and were treated to an awesome platter of snacks. You cant go wrong with kona ocean adventures and I would definitely choose them again!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny and Laure S, Owner at Kona Ocean Adventures, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha,

yes it was a wonderful day indeed.... we really enjoyed our day with you and family.

Kee us in mind next time you are visiting Kona

Warm Aloha from Hawaii,

The KOA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Ocean Adventures also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Ocean Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Ocean Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.